We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity, service and stunning scenery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zebra Hills Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mkuze
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zebra Hills Game Reserve
Save
You added Zebra Hills Game Reserve to your Saves list
Zebra Hills Game Reserve, D464 off N2, Mkuze 3965, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Serenity, service and stunning scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our family of four (2 girls aged 4 and 8) thoroughly enjoyed this fabulous lodge with amazing bush experiences. The watering hole located so close to the main camp was so intriguing and brought the animals to us throughout the day... From Impala, Nyala and Kudu, to warthog, waterbuck and buffalo! The lodge was so comfortable and peaceful and gave our family an oasis of rest through the day but was central enough to reach some great activities nearby. I would recommend Zebra Hills to anyone who is looking for that home away from home coupled with all you'd hope for in a game lodge. The only thing that beat the value of Zebra Hills was the service. Outstanding. A BIG thank you to our hosts, Lin and Kevin.
Richard and Za-Za Swift

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a fantastic trip to Zebra Hills Game Reserve. Great service from Lin and Kevin who organised us a private dinner in our suite, some really fun game drives with sitings of rhino and lions! I am so chuffed we decided on Zebra Hills we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Executive suites are great value with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Zebra Hills for 3 nights as part of our 5 week Christmas holiday in SA. We specifically chose this one as it was within our budget, only accommodates a smaller group of people and we had popped in for a look around on our drive out from staying at Leopard Mountain the previous year and were impressed with the lovely spacious grounds and the animals drinking at the watering hole, Lin was very good at answering all emails and informed us of the special they had at the time which was fantastic. There are fridges in your room for you to put your own drinks in as currently there is no bar service however if you order a Gin and Tonic it will be served but for game drives you provide your own which all helps to keep down the costs. We spent many hours lazing on the sun loungers watching the animals, birds and butterfly's in the open lawn grounds and on our first day the herd of 80 buffalo visited the water hole which was quiet exciting to see. Lin and Kevin work very hard to attend to all guests needs as well as doing the game drives. We most certainly never went hungry with a full breakfast in the morning and a delicious high "T" in the afternoon and tasty dinners in the evening. We happened to be there for New Years night and Kevin did a braai (bbq) with very tasty T Bone steaks and lovely home made salads and bread. There is air conditioning in the rooms which we used as it was very hot and there is a pool in the grounds which Lin and Kevin plan on expanding and developing over the next year or so. All the staff work hard making sure that you have an enjoyable stay which we did and we hope to be back in August/September 2014. We also like the fact that you can chose your package of either one or two game drives which all helps with budgets. Would happily recommend Zebra Hills and can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: There are a variety of double rooms some of which have baths and showers some of which only have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We would like to thank the management and staff of Zebra Hills for a wonderful weekend away.

The attention to detail by the managerous (Lin) was outstanding. High tea and snacks on arrival was fantastical.

The food and hospitality of the staff were amazing. Well done to the chef.

Paul & Karen

Room Tip: All you need is snacks between meals :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed as part of a group at Zebra Hills and were shown some real, hearfelt hospitality by Lin and Kevin, the owners and managers of Zebra Hills. The lodge's best feature is the wonderful, sprawling garden that sits immediately next to a watering hole. Breakfast and high tea were served under umbrellas, real out-of-africa style, while kudu, nyala and warthog socialised by the watering hole just metres away. The lodge accommodation itself is a mixed bag - but the owner is about to undertake upgrading works, and every room was clean and comfortable. Stuffed animal heads on the walls are the only slightly off note, but again these are just a hangover from the lodge's former status as a hunting lodge, and will be removed by the owners soon. The food was consistently fantastic, and the owners and staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Highlight was a herd of giraffe at the top of the road. A brilliant place to stay and highly recommended. Only 30 mins from Hluhluwe.

Room Tip: Try to book the family rooms on the other side of the boma that are independent from the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

How lucky we were to find Zebra Hills at such short notice when our previous safari accomodation had fallen through. Lyn and Kevin made us feel so very welcome with our young children (jsut under 3 and 5 years). Our rooms were spotless and very comfortable having everything that we needed and were serviced daily. Our meals were great and we felt very well fed and there was always plenty availaible. Lyn and/or Kevin spoke with us each day to find our pur plamns and ensure that meal times worked in with what we were doing and were very accomodating. Coupled with the beuatiful gardens and pool around the lodge our holiday was very relaxing. We got lucky on safari too - seeing giraffe, zebra, rhino, elephant, buffalo, wilderbeast, warthogs, nyala, impala, kudu, vultures......etc. Would highly recommend Zebra Hills for a great place to relax and safari!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My family along with several other friends and their families stayed in Zebra Hills early April.

They were wonderfully friendly and accommodating even before we'd booked. Once we arrived we were offered high tea and went for our first game drive and it just got better.

Throughout, the food was excellent, grounds lovely, game drives entertaining and topped off by a surprise Zulu dance in the Boma the night before we left.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zebra Hills Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zebra Hills Game Reserve

Address: Zebra Hills Game Reserve, D464 off N2, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mkuze
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zebra Hills Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.