We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the big 5” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Spirit Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added African Spirit Game Lodge to your Saves list
African Spirit Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Portion 5 of the farm Mkuze Wes | No. 14403, Mkuze 3965, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Krumpendorf Am Worther See, Austria
1 review
“the big 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

an excellent accomodation for our gamedrive
good service and lots of tips to do in the area

dont follow the garmin (there are too many wrong ways it will suggest you to drive) just follow the tripinstructions on the internet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
28
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely hosts, venue, food, reserve.

All round a wonderful weekend.

We will definately be back for many years to come.

looking forward to bringing our friends and family around to experience it all aswell

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadelaineO249, Manager at African Spirit Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review, we appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; it was great meeting the whole family! We look forward to seeing all of you again in the very near future.

Staff & Management
African Spirit Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for six days with Kido Safari, African Spirit Lodge, and had a wonderful time. The room was comfortable, with a private bath, and a view of their game reserve right out the front windows. Every day the food was great: fresh, abundant, and served hot each time. The braai (African barbeque) was an especially enjoyable meal served outside under the African evening sky. We had no problems enjoying each and every meal. Our guide, Jesse, was able to host our photo safari trips without fail, finding us plenty of game to view and photograph to our hearts content. He kept us spotting game, while locating "hot" spots for animals he knew we wanted to see (which was everything!), and he took us to other parks to be sure we experienced a full adventure of seeing the magnificent Big 5. We travel to other countries and found the African Spirit Lodge to be in the top ten for delivery of all services they provide.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

bought a 1 week photo safari, and couldn't be happier with my purchase. Lots of wildlife in their reserve, and lots more in other destinations that they included. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Accommodations are great. Service is wonderful. Food is fantastic. Will definitely steer my friends to Kido Safaris and the African Spirit Game Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosser, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the African Spirit Lodge in April 2013. It was an absolutely lovely time to go. The weather was great, the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were really clean and welcoming. The food was good and always more than we needed. Jesse (JC in "American") and Madeline were the best. Jesse accompanied my mom on all the tours and she was thrilled to do so many new things! We even got in some star gazing with the dark skies and Jesse's telescope. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The chalets are quite nice and all 4 seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We loved this place, the staff and the food, although a little too much for us. They accommodated our vegetarian request without any problems.
However the bed/pillows were too hard for the both of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadelaineO249, Manager at African Spirit Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.
We appreciate it!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for letting us know what we can improve on.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management
African Spirit Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Rock, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We found absolute peace on earth, nestled deep in the Zululand Rhino Reserve. Our stay was relaxing and fun. It is definately a break away from the hustle & bustle of everyday's busy life. The thrilling adventure and lions on our gamedrive will be a treasured memory forever. Thank you Madelaine & Jess for making us feel so welcome & our stay so warm & friendly. Thank you Henk & Liezle for sharing your pearl with us ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadelaineO249, Manager at African Spirit Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Candice,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we appreciate it!
It warms our hearts to hear that you had a great time and that you had a good rest while you were here!
We look forward to your next visit!!
Kind Regards
Management
African Spirit Game Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Spirit Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Spirit Game Lodge

Address: Portion 5 of the farm Mkuze Wes | No. 14403, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mkuze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — African Spirit Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Spirit is a privately owned Big 5 game lodge situated 12 km's west of Mkuze. We invite guests to come and experience true luxury and warm African hospitality. The lodge is magnificently set in the heart of Zululand, and situated within the Zululand Rhino Reserve in KwaZulu-Natal, against the backdrop of the Lebombo Mountains.Zululand Rhino Reserve is an endangered species reserve of 24 000 hectares. It was recently proclaimed as a nature reserve and received international recognition for the introduction of 28 black rhino in 2005. The reserve hosts the BIG 5, over 70 mammal species and a diverse bird life of over 450 species.African Spirit Game Lodge accommodation is intimate and consists of 4 quaint, fully serviced chalets. Each comfortable and stylish chalet accommodates 2 people with an en-suit bathroom, air-conditioner, mini bar, ceiling fan, tea/ coffee facilities and a private veranda. The paths are well-lit and connect the chalets to the main lodge. We also offer accommodation in the form of two self-catering units - one 6 sleeper unit and one 4 sleeper unit. These units are fully furnished and fully equipped for self-catering purposes. No meals are provided for these units. Guests supply their own food. Our main lodge features a comfortable and relaxed dining room, cozy lounge, bar with viewing deck, open fire place attached to the lodge and a swimming pool with a thatched gazebo, offering our guest a welcome retreat after a day in the African bush. Our meals are your typical South African cuisine which ensures that you will never go hungry and will enjoy every bite that is carefully prepared by our cooks.Guests can spend time relaxing in their own privacy or indulge in any of the activities offered in our area including game drives, deep sea fishing, scuba diving, animal interaction, Zulu Culture Educational Tours, Horse Riding, Boat Cruises, Scenic Flights, Tiger fishing and so much more. We are in driving distance of internationally renown game parks like Greater St Lucia Wetland Park, Hluhluwe Imfolozi Game Reserve and Thembe Elephant Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your African Spirit Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Spirit Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.