We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malala Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malala Lodge
Save
You added Malala Lodge to your Saves list
Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Safari Special
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

It was our second trip to South Africa and we more or less by accident came across Malala Lodge. We stayed 4 nights and - as we arrived on New Years Day - booked dinner for the first day. It was a marvelous experience and we instantly decided to have dinner at the lodge every night. We enjoyed the lodges hidden away from other guests and the well furnished, clean and accurately serviced rooms. We accepted the offer to have a game drive in Hluhluwe reserve with Pete and it was an amazing experience. Pete seems to know everything about every animal and above all surprised us with a picnic at a scenic location above the Hluhluwe river. We very much liked the heartily atmosphere and our conversations with Jane which made us feel like part of the family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    32
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent really wonderful time at Malala Lodge enjoying relaxing and friendly atmosphere, great homemade meals and great location for safari's trip - we enjoyed the most trip with Pete to Umfolozi. We recommend staying in Malala Lodge and we hope to come back someday to meet again Jane, Pete and Paul.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Loved the stay. Lodges are situated in the forest, hidden away from other guests. Rooms were clean, well furnished and serviced daily. We went for the self-catering option and all basic utensils were provided ,including a big fridge. Lodge is ideally situated for day visits to all the major attractions in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We booked the three night safari special at Malala Lodge based on the recommendations on TripAdvisor and were more than satisfied. The lodge is a little gem in a bush setting, everything is very well taken care for and lovingly decorated. The food is home cooked and excellent - especially for vegetarians, who will love the many varieties of vegetables that are served. Well done!The gamedrive was wonderful with a nice surprise en route, and Pauls advice and help with further travel plans was truly outstanding. We absolutely recommend staying at Malala Lodge and will definetly be back ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schrondweiler
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I was our first trip to South Africa. Arriving from Durban, we stayed three nights at Malala lodge. We have really appreciated the safari trip with Pete to the Umfolozi Park where we saw our first male elefant and lots of other game. Besides the wonderful food, we appreciated the personal contacts with Jane.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Pete, Jane and Paul were wonderful hosts, making us feel like part of the family. The food was outstanding, the chalets comfortable and the whole experience wonderful. I would definitely recommend Malala Lodge to local and overseas visitors, the 3 night safari special is truly special!!! Although it rained most of the time, we visited the nearby Cheetah Rehab Centre, went for a barge ride on the St. Lucia Wetlands, and had an exciting game drive with Pete through a torrential thunderstorm during which we spotted 37 rhinos! And to top it all, a leopard not even 20 meters in front of us in the middle of the road! Nothing could ever beat that... A memorable stay for my elderly parents before they emigrate back to Germany!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiehl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have booked a package for two nights including a safari trip in Umfolozi Park. We have really enjoyed this trip especially the safari with Pete from the Lodge. We have seen loads of animals and it is nice to see, that Pete is performing these trips still with a lot of enthusiasm.
Besides, the cottages are quite comfortable and clean and the homemade meals were always delicious. The hosts are very kind and helpful and Jane gave us a lot of helpful advices.
We would like to recommend this lodge without any exceptions.

Rainer & Anne-Marie from Wiehl, Germany

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malala Lodge

Address: Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malala is a bush lodge on a 140 hectare (340 acre) private nature reserve, accommodating a maximum of only 18 guests, thereby ensuring a tranquil African bush atmosphere and experience.
Our lodge is located in the Hluhluwe area, in the centre of the Elephant Coast in the province of KwaZulu-Natal. We are ideally positioned between the world-renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Sodwana Bay and the iSimangaliso Wetland Park.
Malala has been owned and managed by the Harvey family since 2001 and we, together with an enthusiastic team of staff, are always on hand to provide the personal attention one would associate with a small intimate lodge.
Our property has a variety of vegetation types, including lowland forest, woodland, grasslands and wetlands. You can enjoy a leisurely stroll through these diverse habitats on well-maintained and marked walking trails. You may come across some of our game, which includes Zebra, Blue Wildebeest, Impala, Nyala, Reedbuck and Red and Grey Duiker.
In addition, Malala Lodge is at the centre of the birding hotspot of KwaZulu-Natal with over 500 species of bird having been recorded in the Elephant Coast area. The Malala Lodge birdlist currently has over 270 recorded species.
The main thatched lodge is centrally positioned within the camp and overlooks indigenous forest. Here guests can enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy bush pub or take a dip in the palm-fringed swimming pool.
Meals are available, by prior arrangement, in the lodge dining room:
- Dinner is a home-styled three-course set menu with cheese and biscuits and tea/coffee; and
- Breakfast is a full English breakfast including cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt and tea/coffee.
Adjoining the dining room is a small reading lounge where a variety of magazines and books are available for your interest.
Malala Lodge can accommodate guests on a self-catering basis or, if you would prefer, indulge yourself in genuine home-cooked meals in the attractive thatched dining room.
Our accommodation, which nestles within the forest fringe, comprises:
- Four private, thatched, open plan chalets all with en-suite shower facilities. The chalets are 1-bedroom units which can accommodate 2 adults, or 2 adults and a child. All the chalets come with fully equipped kitchenettes, ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities.
- A semi-detached chalet equipped with en-suite shower facilities, separate lounge, kitchenette and ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. The chalet accommodates two adults sharing.
- Two family cottages each comprising two bedrooms (en-suite), lounge and kitchenette and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. These units accommodate family groups of up to 4.
- A family cottage comprising two bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. This large unit accommodates a family group of up to 5.
All of the accommodation units are supplied with tea/coffee facilities and all linen and towels are provided.
We provide game drives, by prior arrangement, in our open game-viewing vehicle into the world renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, providing guests with a superb opportunity of viewing a multitude of mammals, birds, reptiles and plants.
Other activities include:
- Self-drive day trips to the parks and beaches of St. Lucia, Sodwana Bay and Cape Vidal for boat cruises, kayaking, snorkelling, diving and whale watching.
- Walking and horse trails through nearby parks and reserves.
- Cultural Zulu Village tours - gain firsthand knowledge of traditional Zulu culture and lifestyle.
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.