We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very outdated, dirty rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Main Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Very outdated, dirty rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Before staying here you should be aware that this property is very dated and in need of a complete renovation. The building look old and neglected. The room looked liked it had not been renovated in ten years with damaged furniture and absolutely filthy floors. Service in restaurant was horrible with long waits just to get the check. The location however is a good base if you're visiting hluhluwe and isimangaliso wetlands independently which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations when staying with us at the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe. Your feedback has been noted and addressed accordingly. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely,

Ben Jonas
General Manager Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    39
    14
    9
See reviews for
31
35
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel was the one was the one furnished by Smartours as the second stop on their South Africa tour. The room was marginal--basically not real clean. The bed was OK, however, with clean sheets and no bed bugs. A good general cleaning would have done wonders.

In most places, this hotel would have been rated a solid 2, but it is a "hotel and safaris" and the game drive carried the day. The highlight was a false charge by a young bull elephant, ears out and trumpeting. A bluff, but it sure got everone's attention. In addition, we saw most of the animals the park had to offer. Our guide and driver was excellant.

With the room leaving something to be desired, the rest of the hotel was acceptable with a very nice pool area. The hotel also provided free internet. Lots of security at the hotel, which was comforting as the town seems pretty rough. A mid-afternoon trip to the liquor store found that it was protected by an armed guard. We were warned not to venture too far from the hotel after 5 PM, but had no problems within the compound.

Room Tip: Veggie pizza at the bar is excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your constructive feedback on your recent stay with us. I can assure you that your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to consistently improve our product and service standards. Your comments on the room comfort and standards will certainly be addressed with management. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the service provided by our staff and safari team.

At your service,

Ben Jonas - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Hotel was a bitter disappointment. Location, staff and restaurant were wonderful. Pulbic areas were kept clean. BUT, the rooms were disgraceful. Bathrooms were dirty...... wall tiles and floors were mildewy and seemingly covered with scum. Online pictures do NOT match the rooms. The only saving grace was that the AC worked at full blast, which was necessary to disguise the smell of mold.

Room Tip: If you find a room shown online, let me know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I stay at this hotel often with tour groups. If I was traveling with my family on holiday, I would consider it as a viable option in and around Hluhluwe, although I probably would stay at Hilltop Camp inside the the Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Park.

PROS: The food is always well presented, fresh and tasty. Buffet so you can eat what you like... and as much of it as you want. The staff is always friendly and keen to help. The pool area is a nice place to relax on a hot day. It is reasonably close to the Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Park, so getting there for a day visit is very much an option, as is driving to St Lucia for a boat safari, or going to the beach at Sodwana Bay..... The open vehcile safaris have really friendly field guides that are in my opinion some of the best ones in the area.

CONS: The management needs to wake up..... they are very laid back, and rely too much on the staff's goodwill, while not putting in as much effort as they should.

I would recommend this hotel to friends, clients and travellers on a reasonable budget looking for a good hotel i the area.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Definitely not worth the price. Big worm on bathroom floor. No hot water in evening but was OK by morning. Had late dinner and watched cat hop from table to table already set for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I had a wonderful experience at the hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and the meals were not bad at all. There is a nice bar outside but but there isn't too much space around the hotel and there is not much to do in the town except to go on a game drive. The Zulu dancing in the evening was very entertaining. The room was okay, a bit old in decor but very decent for a night's rest. I will definitely go back there with my boys. There aren't enough parking bays though for guests and the ones that are available are tiny.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

The hotel was spacious and the food was devine. This was a perfect location for a getaway vacation. It was quiet and relaxing and it was fantastic value for money. The game drive was good and very interesting as was the boat trip on the river. This is a must-do-vacation for those who want to experience a little of what South Africa can offer. I will definatly be going again!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris

Address: 104 Main Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris - Luxury Set in the Heart of The Zulu Kingdom. Rich in natural ambience and with a distinctively African rhythm, Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris treats guests to luxurious accommodation, tantalising cuisine, and a world-class service with friendly staff who live the motto "hospitality is our game". The Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris encourages visitors to leave the modern world behind and to embark on a discovery ... The untamed beauty of Kwazulu Natal's Elephant coast and the neighbouring wildlife and marine reserves have created a vibrant eco-system of unrivalled diversity. Soak up the sun at the swimming pool terrace and feel the cultural richness in the evenings whilst sipping on a refreshing sundowner and watching the Zulu dance shows are held beneath the magnificent Umkanyakude (Fever) Tree. At Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, you'll discover the wild nature of Africa, rejoice in the luxury and revel in the friendly warmth of one of Africa's most welcoming hotels!Let one of our Guides take you on Game drive adventure to Hluhluwe/Umfolozi park or one of the many interactions and activities The Elephant Coast has to offer . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe And Safaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.