We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhino River Lodge- the epitome excellent service and superb food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhino River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rhino River Lodge to your Saves list
Rhino River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O BOX 2950, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Rhino River Lodge- the epitome excellent service and superb food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Each year my spouse and I visit a new place in South Africa for our anniversary, this year we chose Rhino River Lodge and it was outstanding.

Sumanth, the Manager, catered to all our special needs and exceeded all our expectations. He made us feel as though we were the only guests there. Sumanth is also responsible for the delicious food served at the Lodge.

The staff was excellent with my 16month old, whilst we were on game drives.

The rooms are spacious and well maintained. Game drives are phenomenal. I sighted Black Rhino for the first time ever.

Excellent value for money and I will recommend to all I know.

Many thanks,
Preshana Pillay

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    28
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
87
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We loved staying there ( 4 nights) from the first minute, very nice staff , exellent meals, beautiful big rooms, everything worked well and we had superb bushwalks and game drives.
we will come back thats for sure !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Great service and atmosphere. Food was absolutely brilliant, and the service was great. The all inclusive package is highly recommended, with full board, and two game drives daily. Game rangers were friendly and really knowledgeable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkerbellairton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Rich and Megs
Thank you very much for spending the time to review our property. We are always gratefu for feedback. You might be interested to know that we have revamped our rooms with quality linens and have also installed Mosquito Nets in all the rooms which we hope will lead to a more peaceful nights sleep for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We were 2 couples staying in one of the chalets and we loved it. The package with the game drives and food is really highly recommended. The lodge is in a beautiful setting, game drives educational and food was really good. Just be aware that they will add tax and drinks to your bill.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinkerbellairton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Hanna
Thank you very much for this splendid review. I would just like to set the matter straight regarding the tax on your invoice. This is a system generated amount showing how much tax is included in the cost of your accommodation as some clients wish to have this information, and it is not actually added to your account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhino River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino River Lodge

Address: P.O BOX 2950, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rhino River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhino River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.