We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ama Zulu Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ama Zulu Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   70 Nyala Street | Hluhluwe, Hluhluwe, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hluhluwe B&B and Inns
Haddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An Overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our overnight stop at Ama Zulu Guesthouse provided a pleasant relaxing venue on our trip to the Kwa Zulu Natal North Coast. Although we did not have the time to visit the game park we were able to walk with the cheetahs, caracal, servals and wild cats at the rehabilitation park. A very rewarding experience

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a lovely stay. Friendly owner familie and perfect breakfast. Good spot for the surrounding area. The place to discover your 'braai' qualities with a big supermarket closeby and all the facilities in the garden.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

One of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed at.
Outdoor facilities and rooms are decorated very tastefully; each room in an individual style.
The guest area has its own entrance and a private barbecue and chill-out area, all fully equipped. In addition, you can use the pool and large barbecue area in front of the house, also fully equipped. We had a braai and had nothing to organize, just buy meat. Everything is already there, you don't even have to clean anything, a place to put everything is prepared, what a luxury.
The breakfast is excellent and plentiful.
Could not be better. In addition, a nice, relaxed owner, what more can you want?
The beautiful starry sky over South Africa without stray light? Included!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a fantastic 2 days at Ama Zulu. Location is great - only 12 mins from Game Park. Guest. Rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Hosts are very friendly and obliging. Breakfasts delicious. Our kids had a blast with the host's kids in the pool! Beautiful, luscious gardens!

Room Tip: As a family with 2 kids, we were given the honeymoon suite with 2 extra beds. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The service was brillant. Very welcoming and homely. I would certainly recommend this place to anybody. This was my first experience in a guest house and i found that the set up was in detail. Will definitely be returning there

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Welcoming owners, secure parking, amazingly well designed rooms, all the amenities you could ask for. Lovely swimming pool outdoor area.

Breakfast pack provided before we were leaving for the game reserve in the early hours. Free welcome drink. Very reasonable rates.

Only 10 - 15 mins drive from the game reserve gates.

Cannot fault the place. Excellent!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

... just only much too short... We really enjoyed very much our stay at this very nice place. Very friendly and helpful hosts and owners which make out of this place sth really special. Beautifully designed and decorated rooms and outside areas. It is in a very good location to get many places around there easily. Therefore, it serves not only for just an overnight place as in our case, but much better as a base to explore the whole are between hluhluwe reserve and st lucia wetlands.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ama Zulu Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ama Zulu Guesthouse

Address: 70 Nyala Street | Hluhluwe, Hluhluwe, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ama Zulu Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ama Zulu Guesthouse is set in the heart of Hluhluwe and the beautiful untamed Elephant Coast in KwaZulu Natal. This newly renovated house offers guests comfortable accommodation in a relaxing atmosphere at affordable rates. The taste fully furnished and decorated bedrooms all have private entrances, en-suite bathrooms and are equipped with coffee and tea making facilities, bar fridge and colour TV with M-Net. A Continental and full English Breakfast is served daily. Dinners on request. Guests are welcome to relax in the courtyard or at the pool area and enjoy the fresh air and sunny skies. Braai/ barbeque facilities are available! Laundry service available! Children welcome! This Guesthouse greatest asset is it's location ideally situated between the world renowned Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve and the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park. Where the untamed wildlife and marine reserves meet creating an eco-system of unparalleled bio-diversity. Ama Zulu Guesthouse is also within easy reach of Sodwana Bay, St Lucia, Cape Vidal, Lake Sibaya, Mkuze Game Reserve, as well as Ndumo Game Reserve, Tembe Elephant Park and Lake Josini. The "umHluhluwe Safaris" arranges three, six and nine hour safaris into the game reserve. Champagne breakfasts, bush braai's, lunch packs as well as picnics in the Park can also be arranged on request. Qualified field guides will take you on safari in comfortable, modern open game drive vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ama Zulu Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ama Zulu Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.