We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ile Maurice

Ile Maurice
9 McCausland Cresent, Umhlanga Rock, Durban, South Africa
031 5617609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 370 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Næstved
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Go there!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visit the place in february 2014, and it's was perfekt! Great plate with lobster. Go there!!
Greatings from Denmark

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    62
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We are never disappointed by the food at Ile Maurice. Excellent service. Some good old items - the crab gratin very good starter and frogs legs when available are worth a try. Duck, rabbit, pepper steak are always a favourite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Firstly, be prepared to ignore whatever budget you have......it's an expensive experience! But so worth it. A very interesting menu with French and Mauritian influences. I had fried Camembert as a starter, and my partner had the langoustines - lovely. I had prawn curry and my partner had the special butterflied langoustines - amazing. Desserts were spot on - try the fondant!! Good service from our waitress as well. Only complaint: very limited wine by the glass options (i think there was one choice for red)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always my No.1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Once again this place delivered total quality. It is now high on our priority list to travel here from the UK. Faultless and value, a rare combination!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Definitely recommend this place. We were a group of 6 and all that we ordered was delicious! The service was great, and so was presentation. Very much worth it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ile Maurice also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ile Maurice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.