We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fine dining in Durban” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Grill

Havana Grill
Suncoast Casino | North Beach, Durban, South Africa
+27 31 337 1305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 432 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Havana Grill offers an unforgettable dining experience with the combination of great food, an extensive wine selection, humidor for cigars and an environment that is relaxing, yet remains up-market. With views overlooking the ocean, excellent meals and attentive staff Havana Grill is a must when visiting Durban, Suncoast Casino. The restaurant specialises in steaks where they proudly offer grain and grass-fed cuts of meat; as well as seafood, lamb, poultry and game dishes. The wine list and cellar provide a variety of South African wines. Havana Grill is a popular choice for functions and events as the restaurant can be divided into distinct areas; as well as offers two private dining rooms. The restaurant is an ideal meeting place for corporates in the private dining room; or friends enjoying time together over a delicious meal. Havana Grill is open Monday through to Sunday. Lunch is from 12.00pm (kitchen closes at 2.30pm) and the restaurant closes at 5.00pm. Dinner service begins at 6.00pm (kitchen closes at 10.00pm).
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great fine dining in Durban”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was pleased to find out about Havana Grill at Suncoast Casino. Casinos arent reallymy favourite places, but it was worth the trip to try Havana Grill.

Decor is clean and sophisticated with high ceilings, white walls and furniture, contrasted with wooden bookshelves... sublime. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable.

Do try the fishcakes for starters. The menu boasts a wide variety of different cuts of beef etc with every side and sauce to compliment your meal. Without trying to sound like a Johannesburg snob, I did not expect the food to live up to the steakhouses we have in Jhb, however I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food and our overall experience!

Will definitely return. Reservations a must. Great for a treat or special occasions.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    66
    27
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germiston, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Night Out !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went to this great restaurant at the Sun Coast Casino. Our group had a private dining room which was really awesome. The food was really fantastic and I would highly recommend this dining experience

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensburgh, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DISMISSIVE ATTITUDE BY OWNER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Recently had the misfortune of dining at Havana Grill. Directed to restaurant by hotel for dinner reservations for pre-paid conference. We were sent to table set apart from pre-booked table for department of Justice officials and were given different menus. Reported matter and received cold dismissive response from owner Martin Lombaard. Have done some research on other websites and found that there are other patrons who will not return. Disappointing.........

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Food: Variety of dishes available, our group had nachos, fish cakes (an absolute must have) & trio of snails as starters, Main course consisted of lamb shank, fillet on the bone (done to perfection) and for desert the pecan nut and butter pudding (another must have dish). Big thumbs up to the kitchen!! All dishes were well presented.

Wine: We decided on the Boekenhoutskloof Wolftrap white blend, excellent accompaniment with the lamb shanks. Finished our meal with an excellent irish coffee.

Service: The waitering staff are friendly and professional. Thanks Ching!

Ambience: Comfortable with great views of the Indian Ocean.

Conclusion: This restaurant must be on your bucket list, great menu & excellent service. Will be back, again. Well done to the management & staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Extremely slow dinner!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Waited over 15 min to get our first drinks. (A can of ice tea). Service was pathetic and very slow. Huge disappointment as the food is amazing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Grill also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Havana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.