We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not family friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Grill

Havana Grill
Suncoast Casino | North Beach, Durban, South Africa
+27 31 337 1305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 410 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Havana Grill offers an unforgettable dining experience with the combination of great food, an extensive wine selection, humidor for cigars and an environment that is relaxing, yet remains up-market. With views overlooking the ocean, excellent meals and attentive staff Havana Grill is a must when visiting Durban, Suncoast Casino. The restaurant specialises in steaks where they proudly offer grain and grass-fed cuts of meat; as well as seafood, lamb, poultry and game dishes. The wine list and cellar provide a variety of South African wines. Havana Grill is a popular choice for functions and events as the restaurant can be divided into distinct areas; as well as offers two private dining rooms. The restaurant is an ideal meeting place for corporates in the private dining room; or friends enjoying time together over a delicious meal. Havana Grill is open Monday through to Sunday. Lunch is from 12.00pm (kitchen closes at 2.30pm) and the restaurant closes at 5.00pm. Dinner service begins at 6.00pm (kitchen closes at 10.00pm).
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not family friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we had a family get together and all wanted to enjoy the food @ havana - when we foned to book a table - we were turned down because i had a 3month old baby!! very dissapointed!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    67
    27
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Steak had to be sent back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This the third time i have been to the resturant (10 & 5 years ago) and I had to send my steak back as it was over cooked. By the time the second one arrived everyone else had finished eating which is rather annoying however the second steak was very nice.
Moving on to the cleanliness of the restaurant and toilets I personally think it was not as a good as it has been in past years and could do with a little attention to detail.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you always want to be sure of having a good meal, go there. Wide selection of dishes o chose from. Never heard a bad review

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bookclub Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Bad service, very average food and over crowded. I did not go back there for this reason and I wish you would stop asking for more characters I have nothing more to say about this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food near North Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having had an excellent lunch at the sister restaurant, Little Havana in Umhalanga, 4 of us had dinner at Havana Grill, which is located in the Sunset Casino on the North Beach. We had a number of starters (Nachos, Carpaccio, Calamari, Oysters, Fishcakes, Chicken Livers, Mushrooms on toast) and 2 of the pork ribs with bones. Overall, the food was very good; the two dishes which were OK but not great were the chicken liver (they were in some kind of a curry) and the Carpaccio . Everything else was excellent; we particularly liked the oysters and the nachos. The regular margarita was outstanding, while the frozen one was OK. The chocolate fondant was very nice. The place was fairly busy on a Wednesday night; we couldn't get a window seat despite calling a few hours ahead. The service was excellent. The casino atmosphere outside the restaurant is over the top but fun. The total bill came to around 900 Rand. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Grill also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Havana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.