We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business Lunches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive and Oil - Glenwood

Olive and Oil - Glenwood
149 Bulwer Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
0312016146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 432 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Durban
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for Business Lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Food was great and the service was very good. There was the regular menu and a lunch menu which was great as an alternate option.

It is the only restaurant in the area which is suitable to entertaining business associates.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    71
    16
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambiance. Good food. Attentive service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Pleasant ambiance. Good food. Attentive service. Centrally situated. Good place to meet friends for lunch, or for that intimate, romantic dinner for two.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant ambience, food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Good dining experience
Good food and service
Very pleasant service,
Nice place for family and friends

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really disappointing!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We went there in a group of ten. What a disaster!

The starters took 1hour. Three of us had carpaccio for starters. Carpaccio is supposed to be sliced paper thin. This was sliced so thick that I could not finish mine as it just became too rich. The others said the same. On top of it the quality of the meat was poor. The rocket was so old that some of the leaves were actually yellow (I don't know how they managed to do that - Woolworths is not even 10m away!!)

When they brought the mains, 4 of the 10 dishes were wrong. Everyone knows what a mess that creates - half the people wait for their food while the other have nearly finished theirs.

The service was poor, and there didn't seem to be anyone in charge (I guess that's the underlying problem!)

And then its not cheap, in fact even if the quality was good, I would rate it quite expensive.

I will never go there again, and no one in our group would either.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, Owner at Olive and Oil - Glenwood, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hi Hans

I am a Director and Owner of O&O Group and very disappointed to read that we did not live up to your expectations - please accept my apologies. My partners and myself are personally involved in each of our restaurants daily. We take comments such as yours extremely personally, clearly this was not the experience we are striving to create and thank you for taking the time to bring the situation to our attention.

Please will you email me your details, craig.storkey@oliveandoil.co.za, so that I can personally contact you and better understand what occurred, thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated and certainly goes a long way in helping us get better.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice food & attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good range of Italian food at reasonable prices. Wine list OK. Families catered for. Balcony nice to sit out on.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive and Oil - Glenwood also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Olive and Oil - Glenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive and Oil - Glenwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.