We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Da Soggy Prawn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JIMMYZ KILLER PRAWNS

JIMMYZ KILLER PRAWNS
225 ST Thomas Road Musgrave, Durban, South Africa
312012626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 370 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Da Soggy Prawn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Prawns must have been Frozen not defrosted properly so tasted soggy. Tried twice and both times have been disappionted with prawns. Never been back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not what is used to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

There was a time when I frequented this restaurant and couldn't get enough... Not anymore! The service is not bad, its just the quality of the meal isn't that good. Also there is always something on the menu that they don't have or is out of stock.

The Jimmy's at Gateway is far better than the one in Musgrave or Westwood Mall.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Certainly Not Value For Money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My Jimmy's Killer Prawns experience was a dismal one to say the least. The food is not worth the prices they restaurant asks. The food portions are tiny and not tasty whatsoever.

For a restaurant with 'Prawns' in their name, the certainly don't sell prawns worthy of luring a customer to enjoy their offerings.

Certainly a place I will not visit again.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estcourt, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was my first visit to Jimmyz Killer Prawns and I will definately visit again. If you have a family who enjoy sea food, it is great fun to make up your own selection and share.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average seafood for a slightly above average price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Jimmys Killer Prawns offers a fairly limited menu. The prawns we ordered were very average. We have had much better quality seafood at other popular seafood chains. The line fish was delicious though and we wished we had rather ordered only fish. The athmosphere is excellent, as it is located in the cosmopolitan Broadway in Durban North, which is always buzzing. Overall our dining experience was pleasant and we will return, however it is not rated very high on my list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JIMMYZ KILLER PRAWNS also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to JIMMYZ KILLER PRAWNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JIMMYZ KILLER PRAWNS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.