We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round : Good !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher Boys

Butcher Boys
Florida Road, Durban, South Africa
031 8248312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 375 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All round : Good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Service here is always excellant, Food very good, Wine range also excellant. For me simply a must when in Durban ( I have eaten here maybe 8 times over the last 5 years )

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    81
    27
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must for meat eaters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A great place to eat on Florida Rd. Very good food (it's my favourite burger in SA!). Friendly staff, not too expensive. Can be busy especially at the weekends so may be worth booking. Would recommend for a straightforward meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing steakhouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I ended up at Butcher Boys almost by mistake, unaware of the fact that (almost) all Durbanites would recommend it as the best steakhouse in the city. I was truly amazed by the quality of the meat – try rib eye! - and the friendliness of the personnel. Warmly recommended to all the carnivores out there! In the United States, for this kind of steaks and service, you will pay at least three times as much!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Beef on Planet Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Butcher Boys has never failed to meet my Carnivore cravings and exceed them, I had not been back for a few years but, was pleasantly surprised that no slacking had happened, as usual the meat was perfect, the staff very friendly and welcoming, as for prices, this place is the best value I have had ever, taking into consideration that the food is so good!
Really advise anyone who loves meat to go to this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Rib Eye Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

What started off with a friendly atmosphere and large pints of beer culminated in to literally the best rib eye steak I've ever had the pleasure of putting in my mouth hole.

Though no the cheapest restaurant in Florida Rd it's certainly one of the best and definitely one that I'll happily return to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Boys also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher Boys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.