We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durban (Florida Road)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher Boys

Butcher Boys
Florida Road, Durban, South Africa
031 8248312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 410 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Kloof, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Durban (Florida Road)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fantastic steak, good service and even had interaction with the owner, Laz, what a fun person. Waitron was very attentive and efficient kept drinks on the table and cleared promptly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
@Jennifer A Thanks your for your positive feedback, we are glad you had such a wonderful evening at Butcher Boy Florida Road, with Laz popping by as well. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    88
    28
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The service was good and the dining experience was pleasant. I had an , excellent seared tuna steak served with wasabi, soy sauce and mashed potatoes along with a side order of stir fried veg. One of my favourite dishes when eating there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
@JohannesburgBretski Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a good time, and meal at Butcher Boys Durban. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday evening and had a supper with some business colleagues. Service was excellent, however the food did not match. Two of the party were looking for a lighter option and had prego/steak rolls. They were not served the traditional way and steak strips instead of a piece of steak. Quality and taste was not good. The other person in the party had a fillet steak and were quite happy.

Lesson learned - Next time I won't order a Prego Roll.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
@amazinmic Thank you for you feedback, we will take it into consideration. We hope you visit Butcher Boys again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice place. Food is amazing (especially all the meat). Friendly, knowledgeable waiting staff. Not too expensive. Prob my favourite place to eat on Florida Rd

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
@amazinmic Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you had a great evening. Please visit Butcher Boys again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matola, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

If you looking for something different or exotic, or if you wanna have fun or spend a romantic evening, Butcher boys on Florida road is the place to go, the atmosphere is brilliant, the service is macnificent and the food out of this world.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Boys, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
@ NitaHallowes , So glad you enjoyed your evening. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Boys also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher Boys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.