We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat with the fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cargo Hold Restaurant

Cargo Hold Restaurant
Bell Street - Ushaka Marine World, Durban, South Africa
+27 31 328 8065
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 410 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Eat with the fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very unusual restaurant where you eat beside a huge fish tank full of sharks and the restaurant is made from an old ship. Food was very good. We were on an excellent set menu for 190 rand ( about £12) we had starters of prawn toasts( excellent), butternut and lychee soup and chicken salad all very good. Mains were steak( a bit tough) or chicken all presented well . Desserts were creme brulee, selection of ice creams and the best choice- banana and chocolate cake yum ! Good service nice atmosphere and a fun place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    81
    37
    7
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Stunning Eating Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This restaurant can be found in an old cargo ship sited near the end of Uskaka Marine World Complex.

It is clear from the moment you enter that they have made a clever conversion of the ship and many old features still exist including all the steel planking.

The main feature is the fact that you can see sharks and fish swimming around as the tank holding them cover the ground and fist floor of the restaurant.

If going book a table and request it is on the ground floor next to the sharks and you will be seated next to the tank for an amazing view.

Whilst the food was not the best we had in Durban it is still worth going for the experience. However, we did have much better steaks and fish at other places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to reserve a table right next to the shark tank which was brilliant. The food was lovely but wasn't the best I'd ever had and the prices are quite steep. For the experience and atmosphere it is worth going but I've been now and there are much better restaurants out there. Service is brilliant though and our waitress couldn't do enough for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good menu, plus a shark tank!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our dinners were well presented, and prepared. The 2-story fish/shark tank was a treat. We were not able to be seated close to the tank, since those tables have to be reserved well in advance. Our server could have been more attentive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were excited to be able to get a table right by the tank for lunch but were disappointed by the poor food and high prices. My husband was looking forward to the kingklip but it was totally tasteless and very expensive. I enjoyed a butternut & litchi soup which I thought was AMAZING although it could have been hotter.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cargo Hold Restaurant also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Cargo Hold Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cargo Hold Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.