We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor managment, the evening it turned into a night club.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Umhlanga Rocks Drive | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Poor managment, the evening it turned into a night club.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Coming from Jhb, on a late night flight, the last thing one would expect to come To is a reception area that turns into a nigh club with not only with colour changing do lights, but a smoke machine. Shocked at the Thudding music I called for the manager to explain what was happening. She unfortunately was too busy serving drinks at the bar I'm told to meet with me. I was planning to use this corporate hotel for 4 days a week during my commute between JHB and DBN. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilze H, Manager at Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mr Schmidhauser,

Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize that the first impressions that you perceived on our hotel was poor as this is not the standard and service that we pride ourselves with.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. The last minute change to your reservation did catch us off guard. We were only expecting you to arrive the following day. As explained to you via email and telecoms the hotel was fully booked on this evening. We prepared a Director room for your arrival in order to accommodate your booking change. I apologize for not specifically informing you that the reason why the hotel was fully booked was because we were hosting a private function that evening. It is our policy that evening functions must take exclusivity of the hotel and we normally do not take any other reservations as we do not want to inconvenience our other guest not participating in the event. In our attempt to accommodate your earlier arrival request we have missed this target completely.

I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to prove to you that this is not the standard of service that we pride ourselves with. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ilze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
9
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a little suburban hotel in Durban North that has only half managed to rise above its surroundings. Everything feels a little unprofessional and unpolished, although it touts itself as a five star (conference) venue. Rooms are fine, but lots of chips, scratches, nicks. Food is poor. Service is good - the friendly staff do try and help wherever they can. But the whole experience is more of a two/three-star guest house than a five-star Protea African Pride hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A bit difficult to find, even with GPS. However, the receptionist said that with email directions we would have found it much easier. Lovely hotel but if feels a bit like your staying with someone in their house. The rooms are very close together, and the balcony really has no privacy. The decorating is nicely done and luxurious but a little soulless. Our room (nr 7) had very nice views but the carpet was badly stained (as per photo) and the wall above the shower also. It was very hot (like Durban can be in Dec!) and our aircon did not work. That made our stay a bit more uncomfortable as we could not sleep because of the heat. We also could not open the sliding door as that means anyone can just walk into our room from the balcony that extends all around the hotel. We ended up opening the small windows above the door but that did not provide much relief. The breakfast buffet was fresh and tasty although sparse. I don't know, it just didn't feel 5 star. Staff was friendly and helpful but the elder porter could really not manage to get our (heavy) luggage up the stairs and my husband had to help. We went out that evening and when we returned late (at about 12) no one answered the buzzer at the gate. In the end we phoned the hotel so that someone can open the gate for us. Again this felt like we stayed with people and inconvenienced them by coming in so late. We asked for a late check out and they were very helpful. Lovely pool area and really great views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

On check in they did not have the correct room that we specified and had to wait, the staff were badly dressed. The food substandard and although decently decorated this boutique hotel does not live up to the standards. A very disappointing stay. The rooms are too close to each other and the Executive room is short if executive. Very small and the T.V. very shoddy with limited channels, I would give this place a miss there are better places to stay at. The location is not far from the amendmities of Durban but away from the beach. The views clear to the ocean and the location was quite but neighbors dogs could be heard barking into the night. One could hear the happenings of the next door room including the TV.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

my wife and i spent two nights at the beaitiful hotel, on our way overseas. the hotel has the most beatiful seaviews and very welcoming staff.
our room was very adequate, spacious and good views. their breakfast where quite filling, please make sure you have all the courses before the mains as the mains can be a bit small. ideally located close to gateway shopping theatre and the airport.
i would definetely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: please ensure you eat the courses for breakfast because the mains can be a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Excellent location, with comfortable, clean & modern rooms, all complemented by excellent service as well as great food too! Only possible complaint or room for improvement would be larger & better quality TV's in the rooms.

Room Tip: Preferably one of the sea-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A Very Warm, Relaxed atnosphere. When we arrived we got complimentary fruit juice. The hotel is not state of the art but it doesnt need to be - its just tranquil, not noisy neighbourhood and is a stones throw away from all major eating joints. A breathtaking view of the ocean from our bedroom . The balconies are continuous which isnt cool if you intend to dine alone and you have noisy neighbours or who soend alot of time on their own balconies as there is a partition betwwne yourself and next door that doesn't extend to right to the front.

The breakfast was excellent! Im not sure if I had an Omelette or Pancake cos it tased like an Omelette but smelt and felt like a pancake!! The only small issues were that the towel holder was broken and the TV was a bit small and channels limitted. All in all, its all we ever wanted for a one year anniversary - just peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Take the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel

Address: 108 Umhlanga Rocks Drive | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#9 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel is Durban’s exclusive five-star-graded conference venue. Paired with an upmarket, intimate five-star boutique hotel, it offers guests bed and breakfast as well as the perfect opportunity to impress clients or colleagues with its comfortable surrounds, cutting-edge audio and visual systems and cordon-bleu catering. Feel instantly relaxed when you enter the hotel as long twin ponds with stainless steel water features flank the impressive entrance. Next, immediately visible through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the public areas of the hotel, the sparkling infinity pool appears to flow directly into the Indian Ocean on the horizon. Endless Horizons offers its discerning GUESTS not only the personal service and privacy afforded by smaller accommodation establishments but also the state-of-the-art facilities required by business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endless Horizons Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.