We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be On The Cover of Home & Garden Magazine - Wonderful Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosetta House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosetta House
Save
You added Rosetta House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   126 Rosetta Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 235 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Could Be On The Cover of Home & Garden Magazine - Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Staying with Bill and Lee is an absolute pleasure and the welcome is genuine and warm. Lee’s taste for décor is exquisite. Everything to love about this B&B is in the details from the manicured gardens to the room we booked and the thoughtful touches to the breakfast room and breakfast the following morning. Most guests probably don’t even notice the little things and attention to detail at this B&B. Our room, was a queen in the garden in a separate building from the main house. The outdoor terrace is shared with one other room and the beautiful gardens are an oasis of color and texture. Between the two garden rooms is a kitchen that is complete with fridge, microwave and dishes should you require them. Lee is a wealth of information and takes pride in providing guests with info on Durban. Florida Road is a short, easy walk from the B&B with several restaurants and it is safe to walk to/from the B&B. The breakfasts are spectacular, nothing ordinary about them and Lee & Bill take great care in ensuring their guests are well cared for to start the day. The coffee is French pressed, fresh juice on the table, a side table with an array of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals including a choice of muesli. Then comes the cooked breakfast which is far beyond simple bacon and eggs! Lee takes great care in providing a cooked breakfast. Oh, almost forgot the table is impeccably set every morning. I cannot say enough good things about our experience at this B&B. Thank you so much Lee & Bill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetta2, Owner at Rosetta House, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay with us-we are overwhelmed by your kind comments and are delighted that our efforts do not go unobserved ! May you one day return to our beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
94
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Last february 2014 we stayed at this lovely guest house. We were a family of 5 Colombians that felt very welcomed. We were 2 couples and one single lady and the place was perfect for this group as each one has its private rooms with communal social areas. The house is immaculate and it has a beautiful garden with colorful birds. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed our time with the owners; who are very friendly. The place is very well located as we found easy to visit by car the main attractions of the city and the surf beaches. I would advice this place to people that wants to have a nice relaxing space inside durban. This place is managed with love.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetta2, Owner at Rosetta House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful review following the family visit to Rosetta House.We are delighted we lived up to your expectations & you were able to enjoy all our vibrant city has to offer,particularly the Golden Mile with its perfect beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed two nights at Rosetta house when we arrived and before we left Durban and got to see two different rooms. First we stayed in the main building where the owners live as well. The second time we stayed in a smaller building in the garden.

I liked the first room in the main building better as it had wooden floors and a little more atmosphere than the room in the garden. The latter, however, had a small terrace which is shared with the adjacent room and faces the garden. Everything is very well maintained and very clean but lacks a little atmosphere for my liking. The owners are overflowing with good advice and stories about Durban and South Africa and serve a very good breakfast.

Over all the place is very good value for money and provides its guests with everything they need but not outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetta2, Owner at Rosetta House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to submit a review-comments are noted. It must be mentioned that an atmosphere is created when guests have the time to interact,appreciate the tranquil ambience of Rosetta House(opinion repeatedly stated on our TripAdvisor site) & exchange experiences & fortunately this is a regular occurrence around our communal breakfast table.
Regretably Durban is considered merely as a fleeting stop-over, somewhere to sleep & "store luggage" & in many instances a very early departure,as is the case in point.
Nevertheless we are pleased that your other venues made your SA experience memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our second stay at this gem B & B in Durban, which is probably the best we've stayed in in our eleven trips to SA. Lee, Bill and the staff are the B & B's greatest asset. We were warmly welcomed back to Rosetta House by Lee and Bill. Our room, with an outside sitting space, in the lovely garden was well appointed with everything a traveller could desire, even had lots of coat hangers! The room and those in the main house were furnished and decorated with lots of care and style by Lee. The staff kept our room spotless and replenished the tea and coffee daily (which is often not the case in other B & B's we been in)

The breakfasts served in the main house by Lee and Bill were leisurely and a highlight of our day. Lee producing something special everyday.

Rosetta House is in a quiet suburb close by to many and varied restaurants. Access to all of Durban and its environs is easy.

We should be delighted to stay with Lee and Bill again, when we are next in Durban. And have no hesitation in recommending Rosetta House as the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetta2, Owner at Rosetta House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Our greatest asset is returning guests & it was a real pleasure to welcome you both back to Rosetta House & catch up on the family news.Thank-you for selecting us again.
Happy holidays for the other planned trips this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Easily the nicest and most welcoming B&B in Durban. Deserving of its status as #1 with its prime location and extensive hospitality extended by Lee and Bill. Lovely house set in amazing gardens. Within close proximity - walking distance - to Florida Road. What more can you ask for?
One more thing, the breakfasts, the most important meal of the day, lovingly prepared by Lee and Bill will set you up for rest of the day. Book with no hesitation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetta2, Owner at Rosetta House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Your compliments are greatly appreciated & valued.We look forward to possibly welcoming you both back as you make the momentous decision to make South Africa & Durban your new home.
Happy planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E Kent,UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have nothing but the highest praise for Rosetta House. Lee and Bill have it down to a T. Lovely room, great breakfasts and all questions answered fully plus informative advice on restaurants given.Highest praise.
Oh and Durban is a great place to visit-go there!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetta2, Owner at Rosetta House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We consider ourselves greatly privileged to be guesthouse owners as we have met some amazing & special people.
Thank-you, we enjoyed having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

As we approached Rosetta House I must admit we were a little concerned about all the security. Not that Rosetta was any different to all the other houses but I suppose we are just not used to this level of security. Once inside the gates we were met by the lovely Lee and Bill, our hosts. We instantly felt at home and secure and they gave us some advice about life in Durban.
They patiently gave us information about shopping and dining, all of which we found to be very useful.
The room was in the stunning garden and was perfect. Everything we needed was there and it was tastefully furnished and immaculately clean.
We drove down to the sea front and took a stroll along the waterfront .It's not the nicest place in the world to be honest. One of the large buildings along the promenade was dismal looking and had barbed wire all around it. Turned out to be the Hospital!

In the evening we walked the short distance to Florida Road. Lots of restaurants to choose from here.
The next morning we had breakfast in the main house which is beautiful. The food was excellent and we chatted with our friendly hosts.
They gave us some invaluable advice about our drive to East London and we found it to be extremely useful.

Rosetta house is a peaceful oasis in a large city. Superbly run by Lee and Bill.

We had a short but lovely stay at Rosetta House and although we didn't find Durban to be at the top of our list we certainly felt that the B and B was first class.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosetta2, Owner at Rosetta House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Sometimes the level of security ie.electric fences/presence of walking guards etc can be intimidating to those who are unused to these measures but regretably a necessity to ensure the safety & comfort of all our guests.
Thank-you for your compliments & time spent submitting a review.A pleasure to meet you and hear about your past experiences in Bermuda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosetta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosetta House

Address: 126 Rosetta Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosetta House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosetta House.....an exceptional B&B experience where perfect location, fine food, abundant hospitality & attention to detail are keynotes of a memorable stay.We are situated in the safe, garden suburb of Morningside, close to the many varied restaurants in Florida road. Graded 4 star by the Tourism Grading Council we offer 4 luxury en-suite rooms (3 with own entrance & patio) that are beautifully decorated with tasteful blend of specially selected antique and modern pieces.All rooms are air conditioned and have complimentary (free) WiFi, flat screen TV's with own DSTV decoder featuring selected satellite channels and CNN, plus Tea/Coffee facilities, fridge, hairdryer, clock radio, toiletries and safety deposit box. Free well-lit off-street parking is included.International Convention Centre 10-15 minutes away by car and we're well placed for the Kings Park Rugby stadium. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosetta House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.