We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park, badly maintained” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell Park

Mitchell Park
10 Ferndale Road | Morningside, Durban, South Africa
+27 31 23 2318
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 47 Attractions in Durban
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great park, badly maintained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great park but badly kept with a lot of litter, no clear signs and a sense of insecurity.
Surely the city can do better and make the park a safe and clean space for residents and visitors to look forward to?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    19
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Durban Stalwart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

great place to take the kids for the day (: lots of small animals to see & a playground. My favourites are the marmosets & the tortoises.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My Son Loved It - I Think Customer Service Is Wanting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We went to Mitchell Park on a Wednesday morning and a whole walk through the entire park took us about two hours. Now, I am sorry to say this but the lady manning the ticket booth almost scared me. At some point we needed some information but heck no were we going to ask her. We resorted to waylaying locals and other employees. Considering she is the first person you see getting into the park, I think some Customer Service sensitization is needed. It is a nice place, the birds in and out of their cages, walking along the pathways with peacocks was interesting. All in all, a morning well spent.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dusty and Food boring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Your portions are small and the food has no finesse. I make a better sandwich at home. Will not eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ideal Family Picnic Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Mitchell Park is an ideal family picnic venue. It is conveniently located in close proximity to the beaches as well the suburban cafes n restaurants...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell Park also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.