We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place hard to find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Cafe

Freedom Cafe
40 St Mary's Avenue | Greyville, Durban 4001, South Africa
+(27)313094453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 410 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Delicatessen, Healthy, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: "free your mind, body and soul at Freedom Cafe; good food, great company and beautiful surroundings" The café-in-a-can is a concentrate of all we enjoy most in entertaining. It’s intimate, relaxed, and with décor by crack Egg Designs duo Roche and Greg Dry, unselfconsciously stylish. The menu, like the lady, evolves constantly, guided only by the mantra: ‘local, fresh, direct.’Guests watch through a hatch in the compact courtyard kitchen, even wander through this en route to the loo. They linger contentedly under trees strung with jam-jar lights and beaded dreams (‘joy,’ ‘love,’ ‘peace’), nursing cappy and cupcakes on yellow wire Egg rockers or black plastic daxie benches. Then as the shadow of neighbouring St Mary’s church spire creeps slowly across the sand.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place hard to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My daughter who lives in Durban recommended your place for Breakfast. We'll we went searching for it and with the help of GPS we found it. It was so good. Very simple menu, very small place but thoroughly enjoyed our Breakfast. Notice the write up on there Salmon starter, we gave it a try! Nicest raw salmon I ever had. Great Service, very good prices. Thoroughly enjoyed everything about
Your place. A must to visit if your are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Cafe.. Truly for coffees.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Amazing coffee. Cute biscuits. Cute friendly waitress. Excellent barista.. Good service. Food... Well they need to up the ante. Very very average. Which is a shame since they have everything else spot on.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a great place for a food photographer!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Overall my food LOOKED great but one piece of rocket seemed to be snapped so I couldn't take a picture of it with my iPhone and put it on FB. I didn't eat it because of this. Don't you just LOVE Trip Advisor...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great concept; just needs to work on the execution”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My second time to visit Freedom Cafe. The setting is wonderful - it's something of a hidden gem, because it's tucked away down a side street at the bottom of Florida Rd.

First the upside. We had great service from one of the waiters, a lady with a lot of pizzazz! Then too, this is not your regular coffee shop: to some it extent attracts the alternate set. Which is great—as it makes things interesting. It is however more pricey that what you can get elsewhere. Which would be fine, but then you expect the food to be that little bit better.

Breakfast only (which is what we had) is served until 11am, after which you can order from the lunch menu. The scrambled eggs looked great, but the fried eggs were a disappointment. I'd asked for them to be soft, but they weren't. But it was the rye bread it was served with that was the shocker—two slices that were hard and really quite stale. The one was inedible. The additional bacon that we ordered crispy, came out as if it had been broiled.

I'll certainly give Freedom Cafe another go, but I do hope they take to heart what is meant as constructive criticism.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent on all aspects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited the Freedom Café a number of times in Dec/Jan, including hosting an evening function, and couldn't recommend it more highly. Excellent food and service in an atmospheric setting. Durban simply doesn't have great outdoor venues like this. We also stayed in one of the hotel rooms which was first class.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Cafe also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Freedom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.