We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Waters Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Waters Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Dinner Plain, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Recently refurbished, the rooms are decorated with taste, style and attention to every detail of comfort and convenience (lighting, nicely furnished balcony, storage space); panoramic view over the Indian Ocean and city sea-front; no kitsch, no glitter. Immaculately clean; impeccable service. The outstanding buffet breakfast is served in an elegant, well-designed breakfast room. The hotel has a beautiful lounge and bar, and seems to attract a nice clientele (my experience from two visits in the past few months). It's just across the road from the beach and the new promenade, which runs the length of the city's waterfront. Two of the four lifts serve the lower floors only. It would be more convenient if the other two were reserved for the higher floors.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    100
    70
    32
    37
See reviews for
56
74
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This hotel is obviously one of Durbans institutions and a landmark that can be seen from many places in Durban. It could be fantastic but to be honest was a source of many problems on our holiday to watch the cricket over the Christmas/ new year period and I would not recommed this hotel at all. Don't know how they will cope with the world cup - great location with the fantastic new stadium in walking distance and being across from the beach and although the construction being done for the world cup spoilt the views for us over this time you have to accept it will get worse before it gets better and by the looks of things the transformation could be wonderful. The hotel is grubby and our room on the second floor smelly, not particularly clean and had to ask for a curtain to be put over the window in the door which allowed people queueing for lifts to see right in!!!! A piece of material, torn from a sheet was left on the bed for us to improvise!!!! The room was very damp and our clothes in the wardrobe got smelly and needed an iron(which there wasn't) before we could wear them because of the damp. It does tell you that having the air conditioning on and the window/doors open will cause the room to get damp but we hadn't used the air con at first and it was still damp and when we did use it towards the end of the room we complied with the notice. The maid threw my daughters contact lense case away which she left out in the bethroom and so when we returned after the cricket at 6ish we had to start and sort this out as she couldn't shower or sleep without a case to put them in. Eventually after speaking to reception 3 times the duty manager eventually got a case delivered after 8 oclock. ONe of the men on reception had the audacity to tell us we should take more care of our belongings! We had no handtowels for 2 days and reported this at least 4 times to different people and in the end only got them when the maid replaced the bath towels whilst we were in the room but then she didn't want to give us any as there were none in the room to replace but eventually after she made a few phone calls reluctantly left us some!!! One day the towels weren't replaced even though they were dirty and then we were given a towel with a big hole in it! We were woken one night at about 4am by some men talking very loudly ouside the hotel for about 1/2 hour so obviously the night porter is not on duty or is not doing his job. The breakfasts are good but when it is busy they do not put all the breakfast choices out- eg the waffles which one of the reviews had reported and we were looking forward to these. I was told it was too busy when I enquired about them. One morning they had run out of bacon and when I asked I was told there was none left ! I could see that but what she omitted to say was that she could get some more if I would wait a few minutes and it was only after a complaint to the maitre D that I found out that she had got some as we were leaving the dining room. We also wanted to use the internet but the hotel, although they advertise this service could not provide as they had no vouchers from their provider ! After an aweful meal on new years eve when the starters and main courses were devlivered at the same time the duty manager was very good and sorted this out for us and also let us use the hotel internet the next night to check in on line for our flights home but their server had a error that would not let us access the British airways website. Unfortunately the duty manager got the full list of complaints too and his reply was "oh s***!" and he would tell the manager the next morning and he would speak to us. Needless to say the manager did not appear!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Waters Hotel, staff friendly, our room was fantastic (would want the same one again when we go) as it was spacious and had a brilliant sea view. The buffet breakfast is fit for a KING! Room service was almost instant, very efficient. It is in a very good location and the rates are brilliant. We will definitely go back again. Keep up the good work. From Bev Coston

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay, and will certainly stay here again when we are next in Durban. Great location on Durban's beachfront, with a fantastic coffee shop 1 block away. Friendly and efficient service, spacious room with balcony overlooking the sea, and the breakfasts are truly 5 star standard!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

The negatives outweigh the positives. On the positive side, the hotel is close to the beach, sea facing rooms have an awesome view, buffet breakfast is fantastic and room service is speedy. On the negative side, the room my son and I were in (1513) was DIRTY, even after maid service, the toilet, bathroom floor and carpet were not clean. Beds not made properly - my son had sand on his sheets even after the room had been cleaned. We kept finding long, black hairs from the previous guest in the bed, under pillows, behind the toilet, in the plugholes. It was disgusting. Towels delivered after lunch so you spend about 3-4 hours with no towels in the bathroom. They advertise dstv but it is only supersport and mnet series. The rooms have a damp, old smell which, after a while, becomes nauseating. Dinners are extremely expensive, averaging R600 for 3 adults and a child and the dinner food is not great. (except for desserts which are fantastic). Staff are generally unfriendly especially the dining room staff who blatantly stare at you while you are dishing up from the buffet and then stand around discussing you while you are trying to eat it. Believe it or not, some white people do speak Zulu. It was so bad that we had room service on our last evening. Staff could not assist with anything like the phone number for Shaka marine world or where to buy batteries for a camera. Indoor pool was horrific - in a dark room with a broken fountain and the area is used as a shortcut by the staff. I haven't been to Durban for over 20 years and it was the first time for my 10 year old. The awful hotel actually ruined our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I checked out without staying a night and suggest you do not consider booking here to avoid ruining your holiday.

To be put in a room with another couple on the pretext it was 2 rooms with an adjoining bathroom was too much to bear. The fact that we had to share one key and go through their bedroom to use the bathroom was comedy gold as far as false advertising is concerned.

The brown toilet and yellow water to brush your teeth in were the plus points of the room, the fact that everyone's bathrooms have a window directly onto the corridor isn't great either if you don't want other guest hearing your toilet visits.

The only person I felt more sorry for was the guest in a wheelchair who couldn't use the lift as it didn't stop level with the floor,had to be carried up the stairs and no alternative wheelhair friendly accomodation was available.

Please don't risk the enjoyment of your holiday by staying here

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Waters Hotel is a Three Star Beach front Hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best Accommodation at Affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in Hosting unforgettable Wedding Receptions. We have a number of Wedding Venues to choose from depending on the size of the Function required. The Hotel offers Business Conference and Function Facilities for Small to Large Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.