We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-standard buffet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Durban to your Saves list
Hilton Durban
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sub-standard buffet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently had lunch at the Rainbow Terrace. There was a green fly on the salads and when we brought this to the attention of the staff member we were promised that fresh salad was going to be brought in but that did not happen. The variety of food on offer was not enough for the money we paid. To sum it all - I will not go there again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
SifisoK, thank you for your constructive feedback. Your comments have been passed onto our Operations Manager and Food and Beverage Operations Manager. Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    223
    112
    36
    28
See reviews for
68
122
48
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had some troubles on checkin, since had reserved 2 rooms which one of them was a special room prepared for disability guests, as my grand-ma is on a wheelchair. When we arrived, the special room wasn't ready yet. Also, on the normal room, i have asked for a non smoking room. When we enter the room, it has a strong smell of a smoking room, and also the bathroom was dirty with some problems on the bathtub. After waiting for about 1 hour, they upgraded us to another room, but only after complaining a lot. The hotel is good for business since it is at the side of the Convention Center, but is a little bit far from the beach. Could be better since it supose to have a "Hilton" quality

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, I sincerely apologise that your room was not to standard on checkin. Your comments have been passed onto our Operations Manager and Executive Housekeeper. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review on Triapdvisor.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest relatiosn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pongola, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had a good stay at the hotel. I just feel they need to revamp to meet the standards of the new modern hotels and my expectations were too high. if the hotel can reduce the prices on their en suits. The food the staff service was really great and more especially the guys working at the basement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Radebe, thank you for taking the time to send us a response.

Your comments have been passed onto our Operations Manager.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.


Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Business hotel but as tourists we didn't feel out of place. Sayed on the 13th Executive floor which also gave us access to the executive lounge on the 14th floor. We used this for breakfasts and afternoon tea which are all complementary, indeed I went in to watch a premiership match on one of the 2 flat screens and after 6.00 alcohol os complementary aswell. The loung had a lovely relaxed atmosphere making one feel special so I'd say it's weel worth upgradeing to the Executive floor. Car parking under the hotel is abour R60 / night. We learned the best rooms are the corner deluxe ones.

Room Tip: For a sea view a room with an even number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor.

We are glad that you experienced the executive floor, and all that it has to offer. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had a pleasant stay at the Hilton. the roorms where clean and well furnished. The only problem i experienced that we had to wait for lady at resturant to finish her conversation before we were seated. Other than that I loved my experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Yvette, thank you for your constructive feedback. We glad to hear that your stay at Hilton Durban was pleasant.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel management cares primarily about profit at the expense of hospitality. Definitely not worth staying given the many hotels around with closer proximity to the beach, City center and restaurants. Further, the food quality of poor with little healthy options and quite expensive. And please do not get hurt on the property, as you will find little empathy and concern from management...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Kimlin A, Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this stay. The next time you visit Durban, please inform me so I can ensure all your requirements are met. Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed for 15 days over the past two months. Good stuff: Great service ethic, nothing too much trouble for all staff. In room dining very good - food is tasty and freshly prepared and delivery is prompt. Location great if you have business in the CBD and you are close to all amenities.
Rooms comfortable - in particular the bed and pillows and there is a decent TV bouquet.
Not go good: Public areas (in particular the Bar and Restaurant) need a serious makeover. Bar only opens at 5pm which is odd for a 4 star establishment and draft beer is frequently unavailable - no atmosphere! Rooms, whilst comfortable, are starting to show their age and overall maintenance is underwhelming. Room safes, air conditioners and lights are constant issues - all my colleagues had similar issues. Buffet is also ok - food tends to dry out and no great shakes (with the exception of room service) which again, for the brand and the fact that this is a 4 star establishment. That said, it is the best option in the Durban area although you would have a better experience if you chose a hotel further north.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
John G, thank you for your constructive feedback, We are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and the service good. I will definitely pass on your comments to our team members. The hotel is close to the ICC and beaches. Your comments with regards to the Bar and Restaurant have been passed onto our Operations Manager and Food and Beverage Manager.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Durban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.