We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HILTON HOTEL DURBAN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Durban to your Saves list
Hilton Durban
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“HILTON HOTEL DURBAN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel was great, however the rooms need to be redecorated, as the furniture and decor is a but outdated and boring. The food was very good, although if you are eating breakfast in the Executive Lounge you are required to wait 15 - 20 minutes for your eggs, as the waiter has to travel downstairs to collect the eggs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Alain D, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. It s is always nice to receive feedback.

It is great to hear you liked the hotel and you found the food good, I will definitely pass on your comments to our chef.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.


Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    239
    125
    41
    41
See reviews for
85
135
51
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

rooms should have at least a small fridgerators,because sometimes we come with our refreshments from our meetings and there is no place where we can place our drinks to be at least cooler.everything is good except for the refridgerstors.smaller once without deep freezer can be perfact

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Tshepo M, it is always good receiving feedback and I thank you.

We do have minibar fridges in the room, should guests wish to store their own personal items or if they would like the minibar stocked.

Both these are on request, however the next time you over at the hotel please let us know so we can have your minibar opened for you.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My latest visit was acceptable however a few pointers....

1. Consistency is key - housekeeping is erratic somedays you receive toiletries etc and somedays the old containers get left in your room etc.
2. Room service needs to pay attention to detail - if a guest requests a specific item and it is agreed to at the time of order then the item should be delivered. (extra bread rolls, extra chilli etc)
3. It is still sad that in 2013 hotels still charge ridiculous prices for wifi but hopefully with time that will change.

4. Despite the room advertising bath robes and a mini bar, the bath robes were non existent and the mini bar section LOCKED. Not acceptable. If you advertise a mini bar, make sure it is stocked and available to the guest on check in.

5. Hiltons loyalty programme really needs an overhaul that at least gives the impression that patronage to the brand is recognized. Despite having been loyal to the brand for a decade plus my membership is still stuck on blue as a result of booking accommodation through third party sites and despite me bringing in more than 10K conferencing business for 90 MINUTES during the upcoming AIDS Conference. It gives the impression that getting to Diamond is like pulling teeth at this hotel chain.

6. A consistent complaint is the drainage of the showers that spill over into the main bathroom area. Surely it could be ensured that housekeeping have the tools to make sure that the drain is clean running after each check out?

All in all decent service, great reception staff, property still in need of a forever promised upgrade and refurb but home away from home all the same. I'm returning for 7 nights in June for the AIDS Conference and look forward to an improved, recognised stay in a King Hilton (the room refereed to in my review was a King Hilton Deluxe)

Room Tip: Corner higher up rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations during your stay with us. Your comments have been addressed with The Executive Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager.

Please can you ask for me during your stay at the hotel during the AIDS Conference, so I can ensure all your requirements are met. Thank you once again for your comments

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great service (special early breakfast for runner, ice on hand next to the lift back to your room at the end of the race) and the best location for the Comrades Expo. I'd recommend this hotel for those looking for a couple attending Comrades.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Mathew S, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. During the Comrades period we try our best to make it most comfortable for the runners .

Thank you once again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Warm Regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Picked as running Comrades and this is the official hotel. Nothing exceptional in the hotel but location next to start was good. The Internet is really expensive and was not included in room price. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your constructive feedback. During this period we host most of the comrades runners and we tend to cater for all their meal requirements runner up to the events, with lots of pasta on the menus.
We also have a comrades breakfast in the morning of the race that starts at 3am.

Thank you once again for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were very excited to stay at the Hilton in Durban. Its not by any means a 'cheap' hotel so we imagined it would be a great stay. All in all a fairly average stay. Apart from being put in what seemed to be someone elses room (it was a smoking floor and the welcome letter indicated it was intended for a Mr Moodley) they did move us very quickly though.

The room was lovely, comfy beds and such. However the restaurant was largely a let down. On the Friday we went for dinner we got there early as we hadn't booked. We were seated and all was fine. We were approached by four different waiters to get our drinks orders and then had no set waiter for the rest of the night. To flag one down was near impossible so our drinks remained empty for the rest of the night. Our starters took over an hour to receive and the food was not amazing. Neither were the mains. A two hour expedition with very average results. For those prices you are FAR better off leaving the hotel for meals.

When I ordered room service the following night, I ordered soup. It got there quickly and I was impressed. Until the lady lifted the cover to show how half the bowl had been emptied onto the plate it was rested on during her walk up to the room. She blamed the kitchen for 'making it too full' and when I asked her what she was going to do about it she simply picked up the plate and poured the soup into the bowl and used my napkin to wipe down her tray. Needless to say not the highest standard.

The staff is largely polite and helpful and the room and hotel is a lovely setting. But whenever you get a chance to eat out, do so!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Lauren L,thank you for the constructive feedback. I sincerely apology that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Please be aware all your concerns will be addressed with our Front Office Manager and Food and Beverage Manager.

The next time you visit the hotel, please advise me in advance so I can ensure all your requirements are met and you get to experience the full Hilton Moment.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The high rating is because it is probably the best hotel in town and anyway is by far better than the ones I've seen in my previous visit. Having said this, i was slightly surprised and disappointed. General is not up to a standard to you would expect at an Hilton hotel. The gym is pretty small and so is the swimming pool.
The breakfast has a good selection of food however the quality of some items is lower than what you would expect in hotels of this level.
The location is probably not ideal for turist as it is located just next to the convention center, not really the best place where to go for a walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dadde74, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations on this stay, however the next time you over at Durban please do let me know so I can ensure all your requirements are met.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Durban soon.

Kind regards

Moe Hamza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#7 Business Hotel in Durban
#8 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Durban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.