We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent - Look forward to renovation though!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Durban

Save Saved
You added Hilton Durban to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Durban
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent - Look forward to renovation though!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Solid hotel, decent in an old school kind of way. Great check in, early check in allowed, ab fab cafe mocha and seriously local bunny chow from room service! The book detailing things to do at the concierge should be updated though as I could not do the wine and chefs tour at Sable Estate as the number was disconnected and could not make a booking. A huge turn off though was an interleading door, I think that reception should tell guests about this before they allocate the room as if I had a choice i would refuse such a room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieNolan13, Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send us your review. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is always good to receive constructive feedback and I thank you, on behalf of my Team. We apologise for your allocated room and will update your profile with your preference. Have also noted your comment regarding the latest information being available at our Concierge Desk and have informed our Front Office Manager accordingly.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Durban and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    206
    99
    30
    23
See reviews for
62
104
45
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Hilton Durban in February for a long weekend break. As a HHonors Gold, we were upgraded to an Executive Room with lounge access and complimentary internet access. The property itself is well appointed but the service and the staff are what sets it apart. Truly exceptional and worthy of a 5-star rating. Underground parking is available. The only very minor drawback is the location which isn't quite on the beachfront. Overall though, this is the best choice for a hotel in Durban if you are looking for a mix of local hospitality and international standards.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieNolan13, Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send us your review. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is always good to receive such great comments about our staff and I thank you, on behalf of my Team.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Durban and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, essex
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business, the hotel is fairly central to town and when I arrived, plenty of people there to assist you with yours bags but no over powering. I was lucky and upgraded to an exec room so sent straight to the 14th floor. Checkin was smooth and easy and was greated by a friendly helpful receptionist. The room was large, great views, very clean and tidy The bathroom had a decent walk in shower and large bathroom, although not too bright. The usual available, safe, tea, coffee, water, internet. The exec lounge was well stocked, great views with a balcony and very friendly staff. Even offered me coffee as they were closing. I used the gym which was a decent gym, plenty of carido machines, a rack machine, benches and some free weights, better than most Hilton gyms. i used the bar down stairs for a snack and a late night drink, however it was quiet, lifeless and felt like and awkward add-on. The hotel had an outside pool although small, enough for a quick dip. check out in the morning was helpful and friendly. Overall excellent value, nicely decorated (I guess because it was new) and a decent business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dragek, Thanks so much for posting a review.

I really appreciate you taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others .Its great to hear in one evening you were able to experience most of our facilities. Your comments will certainly be passed onto the team. I hope we get a chance to meet next time you’re in town.

Please ask for me during your next visit so that I can make sure it’s productive and pleasant again.

Warm Regards

Roshini

Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights at the end of our holiday in South Africa. The staff were friendly and very efficient. Our rooms was ready for us when we wanted to check in a little early.

The room was a standard Hilton-style room, so nothing to complain about. The 5 star rating the hotel has is relative to a South African 5-star system, so probably wouldn't stand up to scrutiny if compared to 5 stars in the US or European countries but none-the-less the hotel was nice and comfortable.

The breakfast was quite expensive for SA standards, but the buffet was very well catered. Dinner was also a buffet and provided a wide range of dishes (Friday night is curry night, which we didn't feel like taking part in so we ate in the bar on the ground floor).

There is a pool in the hotel, but this is overlooked by the restaurant so we decided to give that a miss.

Parking is available in the basement of the hotel. Obtaining a space wasn't a problem and the hotel subsidised the standard rate for guests.

The hotel is set back from the beachfront. There aren't any other restaurants we found within walking distance, but the taxi service in Durban is fairly reasonable and other locations are a short drive away.

Room Tip: We booked through Lastminute (UK) where the hotel was a 'secret' hotel in Durban, so saved a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Str00m, , thanks so much for your comments. Your comments would be shared with the team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to Hilton Durban in the near future.

Kind Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

As always, you get the same service levels @ all Hilton. This one is situated right next to the ICC (International Convention Center), Durban, and at walking distance from the beach and market place. Be careful while visiting beach and market place alone, take advice from the hotel staff.

Good service, descent food and comfortable stay.

However no free internet, you can almost buy a 3G dongle from the market at the price which Hilton charge for internet.

Not recommended for budget travelers

Room Tip: Take room at higher levels ( say from 9 to12 floor) to get nice view of city, sea and cricket stadiu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Nikjar, Just a quick note to thank you for your review. May all your adventures with Hilton continue to be as delightful. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon. Be assured that our staff and I will take utmost care to make sure you’re accommodated in everything you desire.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

price-performance ratio is pretty good, fair service, helpful staff and a bit more (soy milk in the coffee bar). no negative surprises.

Room Tip: check view availability when booking. city view is not the best, probably ocean one is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear that you have an overall good stay , and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

What a fantastic Hilton!
Well maintained, very friendly and helpful staff and lovely rooms!
I stayed for 2 nights and ha d a very pleasant time.
Very highly recommend this Hilton


PS. Be cautious the in room wireless is a little tricky particularly on an iPad!

Room Tip: High floor recommended with beautiful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDurban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Mr Andrea

It is great to hear that you had a fantastic stay at our Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Durban in the near future!

Warm Regards

Roshini Naidoo
Journey Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Durban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.