We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leon White as a frequent guset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani to your Saves list
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Pretoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Leon White as a frequent guset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The eating area on the second floor is very limiting although it has very beautiful views however it causes one to que and await your turn to have breakfast, which makes one late for meetings and other engagements.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the queues at breakfast time. As the Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani are one complex, we will always have a minimum of two operational breakfast venues. During busy periods an additional two venues will be opened, in order to minimise the conjestion. Guests are welcome to dine at the venue of their choice, between the two towers.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    336
    123
    48
    37
See reviews for
246
155
26
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The atmosphere is wellcoming and of high class. Staff are freindly and helpfull.
This is a master piece in excellence in every way one can imagine. The food is good and the service is perfect. happy me

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have realised that most of the rooms at Tsogo Sun hotels are not cleaned under the bed. if something fall under that bed and you try to retrieve it it comes out with a bunch of dust. Please ensure that cleaning is thorough as it affect other people health wise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards experienced from our housekeeping team - your comments have been passed onto our Executive Housekeeper, who will take the necessary corrective action to ensure that this does not happen in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Maharani. It was my birthday. After checking in my husband and I went for a walk. When we got back to our room there was wine, chocs and nuts and delicious mousse cake. It was really thoughtful for the staff to have arranged that. Room was comfy and clean. Friendly staff.
The only problems were that the room service doesnt answer the phone and the breakfast was very disappointing. I book at elangeni but was persuaded to stay at the maharani. The guy that booked us in guaranteed us that the breakfast has changed since last year but it didnt. Some indians dont eat beef or pork and there wasnt much to choose from. We ate at elangeni. Breakfast is much better there. But overall I had a pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and that the team was able to surprise you for your special occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing breakfast delivery at the Maharani - fortunately, by combining the two towers, we are now able to offer a variety of restaurants, which enables us to offer our guests a choice of dining options.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after a couple of years the new renovations are great, hotel looks more lively. Bathrooms are upgraded good to have showers. And rooms are airy and comfortable. good views from the rooms. Hotel is an excellent choice if you want yo be on the beach front also great views from the rooms. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the newly refurbished hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beyond words, friendly and helpful, I can preach but do yourself a favor request to make the acquaintance of Robert Samuel the manager he has a pleasant nature, friendly and helpful. He will most definitely make your stay worth every penny. Both Elangeni and Maharani

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your compliments for Robert. He is indeed an asset to our organisation. Your comments have been passed onto him and I can assure you that they are greatly appreciated.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

After a very bad experiance at another hotel that we checked in and checked out 30 minutes later. We made a reservation at the Elangen,i 10 minutes later we arrived there.

WOW chalk and cheese.. we were greeted at the door, offered a welcome drink and got checked in immediately.

Foyer of the hotel is beautiful, staff are friendly and show that they enjoy thier work and want to be there. I requested a high floor and was put onthe 20th floor, amazing view.. Amazing room.
Room was in perfect conditions with all that one needs.

We had dinner in the Japanese restaurant that evening and that was for sure the best experiance i have ever had. Food and Service was excellant.

Breakfast the next day was perfect, hot coffee and toast bought as you sit down, beautiful view and good spread to get you going for the day.

Than kyou for making my last day of my holiday a great one.

I will be back.

Room Tip: the higher the better sea view,,, awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and we managed to save your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.