We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Recent refurbishment is good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter warmer
Ranked #4 of 43 hotels in Durban
Chambery, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay. Recent refurbishment is good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently we needed to spend a night in the Durban area and were keen to return to the old area of Durban beach. The new combination of the old Elangeni and Maharani hotels is great and the staff were wonderful. The only department lacking efficiency and pleasantness was reception.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view and insist on a non smoking room if this is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    211
    77
    34
    21
See reviews for
154
87
18
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bamako, Mali
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We was there during the AFCON_13. My husband is an international soccer player from Mali

Well positioned. Walking distance to most attractions. What i loved the most was that i could walk around safely, lots of police in the area. Went to the skate park, swam in the Indian Ocean, went to Suncoast and uShaka. Beautiful view which Hilton does not have...Priceless!

Food was fantastic, rooms clean, staff friendly and well spoken and patient. Pooldeck was breath taking....coming back...very soon. Merci Elangeni. Will upload pics very soon. xoxo

Room Tip: My tip is that you choose a room more on top
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as the attractions that Durban has to offer and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a complete rip off!!!! It's old ... Smelly and poorly maintained. It's in desperate need of a face lift. How can they charge these rates for what i would class as a 2.5 star hotel. The Hilton which is close by charges around the same, but is a hundred times better. The Elengeni in most places would actually be classified as dodgy ...... It was a business trip where we also made use of the conference venue, but I can't help but feeling ripped off. Marketing department definitely has to find an alternative.... It's a shame considering what a lovely hotel the Elengeni was back in its day......

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the tiem to post your review.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment, phase one focussing on public areas and pahse two focussing on bedrooms.

I can assure you that the refurbishment will enahance our Guests'future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the elangeni is suppose to be the best expriance but think again...firstly the rooms are just horrible dirty n old,for a four star it sucks, your room never gets cleaned till very late and even it was cleaned it looks worse the what you had left it... the bathrooms r never cleaned by the house keeping ladies jus given a half hearted clean, n it looks dirty up until u leave! then the breakfast buffet in morning is just bad,bland tasteless unseasoned food, no varity over a week or so stay,just the same boring options everyday...the head chef should honestly takemore pride of what his junior staff are placing in the resturant! Food is just dumped into the warming servers and looks like no effort has been placed for paying guests! I honestly felt that this was a waste of my hard earned money on a holiday that was day light robbery....it's a pity that southern sun continues to let this hotel run at such a bad pity full state! Soo please if you want to book here think again rather spend a little more money and go to somewhere else coz this hotel has had it's days...and if the gm could actually take the critizem and do something about the state of the hotel and its lazey employees,there could be hope for this once iconic hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards experienced from our houskeeping and food and beverage departments. I would like to make contact with you in order to obtain more information regarding your stay, so that the necessary corrective steps can be taken to improve on our service delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The stay at North Beach was absolutely fabulous Having stayed at other hotels in the group I must say this one has been the best thus far.. Dining, facilities, comfort, style...everything was top notch and made for an excellent family vacation. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay - the team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

the Elangeni is a tired old lady in need of a lick of paint- and room refurb- which it seems she is getting; that said, porters and most other staff are very good and the hotel is well postioned; the one glitch is check in and check out which is very painful unless you are lucky enough to get the duty manager helping you (Vukhile?) was excllent- the rest of the crew at recetion utterly hopeless (we waited 45 minutes to check in with a very modest amount of guest traffic at reception- this one issue probably stops us coming back)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards expereinced from the front desk team - we are currently taking the necessary corrective action to ensure that this is drastically improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarens, Free State, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spectacular view, friendly staff and nice clean rooms.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and good value. We had a very pleasant evening buffet at the hotel restaurant as well.
Convenient location with secure parking available.

Room Tip: View is even more spectacular from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.