We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst trip ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani to your Saves list
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst trip ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

i spend on average of 25 night a year at southern sun elangeni , being a frequent guest on director status and allways staying in a executive suite , my last trip was the worst ever (28-12-12 till 06-01-13) got the worst service ever from moosa at the front desk rude isnt the word ! room wasnt clean properly , no towels replaced no toilet roll replaced carpets not vacuumed . the general overall condition is totally declining. for the rate they charging of over R2000.00 for a night its definetly not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse i nstandards expereinced during your stay - you comments are viewed in a serious light and have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    336
    123
    48
    37
See reviews for
246
155
26
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jozi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Southern Sun North Beach, The Tsogo Sun Experience comes alive at the North Beach, From check in, to your room cleanliness and ambiance, Dinner experience, Breakfast, room service etc, not to mention the majestic view of the Indian ocean.

As a frequent guest member you feel the value of your money every step.

Viva North Beach!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thabiso Taaka

Room Tip: Higher Room, Better view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to your "home" in Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks in Nov 2012. Staff were and friendly, room was very good and the food excellent. Just across the road from the beach as well and close to the Casino.


Word of caution though - be careful walas king along the beachfront as you may be targeted by thieves

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: ask for one away from the lifts as these can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welocming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I travelled for work, and spent 1 night at this hotel. It was clean, and comfortable, but lacking any kind of WOW effect.

From walking into the hotel till getting to the room, the experiences are very varied. The reception area is well lit, and the check in was seamless. The lift, made the most disturbing noises on the way up, infact I was scared we were going to get stuck in it.

The Aircon in the room was not sufficient to combat the heat and humidity that Durban is known for, We ended up sleeping with the window's wide open, which of course let all the noise in from the very busy road below. The view from the room was spectacular.

The staff however are amazing ! As we arrived very late, they managed to help us with all of our requests, and printed out important documents that I needed for the next day.

We ordered room service, and the food was of a very good quality and inexpensive. The cost of the cooldrinks however is exhorbitant.

We were informed that Breakfast would be served from 7am the next morning, by 07:15 we were still not able to go into the dining room, as the staff were still setting up. This resulted in a very rushed breakfast on our part, as we needed to get to our meeting. The tea that I ordered was cold, and I had to ask 3 times for milk.
There was a lovely variety of food available, and all of a good quality. I did have to ask for a bread knife repeatedly to cut the bread...eventually giving up, simply because I was under time pressure.

I think that this hotel, has wonderful potential. The location and the views are amazing, however there is definately a strong need for a refurb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards you expereinced during your stay.

A refurbishment to our public areas will commence this year, which will enhance our product offering. We are currently planning a refurbishment to the bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the North beach, the hotel has been upgraded, spacious rooms and bathrooms, and a redecorated foyer and reception area together with warm and friendly staff made us feel welcome and relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoy the "new" look for Southern Sun North Beach - we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the hotel is one of the best and i enjoyed my stay but the only problem was the staff at the reception they are not welcoming and friendly and to me its like they were doing me a favour and our toilet was leaking water but the overall condition and service was the best

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unwelcoming experience from the front desk staff - we have taken steps to address this as this is most definitely not the North Beach standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past and couldnt help but notice the declining standards on my last stay in December, which can only be described as a 3-star experience. Despite the 5-star room rates, the hotel is in desperate need of a revamp. The lifts, corridors, bathrooms and entertainment areas were all in extremely poor condition, while the hotel just feels "dirty".
But most dissapointing was the poor service by reception staff and shockingly poor service by the gentleman at the concierge. The overall experience left me wanting and I will not be returning until this hotel undergoes a serious revamp - both cosmetically as well as in terms of service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you expereinced from the reception and concierge staff - we view your comments in a serious light and have taken steps to improve on their hospitality.

The hotel will be undergoing to refurbishment to public areas this year, which will enhance the product. We are currently planning a refurbishment to the bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.