We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani to your Saves list
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Comfortable hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. In room space great especially with the kids. Good quality finishings.Breakfasts were great, although the waiters could smile more. Parking at the hotel could be better. Allround a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the new look of the hotel - we look forward to welcoming you and you family back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    336
    124
    49
    37
See reviews for
249
156
26
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were there at 14h10 to check in and our booked room were not ready yet but Freddie at reception made some quick interventions and get us into another room that became available which he think was more conducive seing that we had a child with us. At the time when we made the booking there were no family rooms available and they suggested a room with a king size bed and a couch for our son to sleep on. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the changed room 1007 have two double beds. It was so spacious and absolutely beautiful. It was a first time that I stayed in a hotel with my family and they were extremely happy about the luxury and beauty of our hotel room and more so the stunning seaview right in front of you (the window is as wide as the room) and walking distance to the beach and all other attractions such as Ushaka. Even though we did not get a parking at the hotel, the walk to and from the overflow parking felt safe and it was a nice experience. We completely forgot about the cost as it was worth every cent.

Room Tip: The sun is already up by 05h00 and on our last day (25 December) we enjoyed the beach from as early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Im was very dissapointed during my 3 night stay at Elangeni. Information wad poor,customer service was poor, i booked sea facing rooms but only got 1 despite having booked 3 months in advance. Im a freguent southern sun guest but i wont be frequenting Elangeni. I did not get value for my money. Not by a long shot

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards that you experienced during your recent stay. Your comments are viewed in a serious light and corrective steps have been taken to ensure that we improve on these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel offers a great loction. 200m to the beach. there are to pools to stay with the sun all day. life guards need to stay on till the pools close. we had to rescue a drowning boy after they had left work. overall service an amenitys we excellent at this hotel. great gym ti work out

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post you review and for your assistance with the little boy at the pool.

The lifeguard times have been amended to accommodate the pool closing time, which is 18h00. All parents are advised at this time that the lifeguards are going off duty in order that they keep an eye on their children. All children who are left swimming without adult supervision are asked to leave the pool and to return with an adult.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stay at most Southern Sun hotels nationwide, whilst all the hotels are beautiful and staff are friendly overall, I find the staff and service at North Beach so much more friendlier and efficient.
From the moment you pull up in front of the hotel until check out.. The rooms are more spacious and more comfortable as well.
Well done to the staff and the hotel manager, whom, obviously has a large impact on the staffs' services and my experiences! Richard, at reception, in particular is an amazing member of the team.. My visits to Durban are more pleasurable when I stay at the North Beach Hotel. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must! Waking up with the breathtaking view of the Durban coastline is pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and that the team were efficient and attentive. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at your hotel in April and now again in December. I love the refurbished rooms, especially the bathrooms. On checking in my room was ready, but the telephone was not working. This was not to my satisfaction, and so I was given an upgraded room to what I had booked, fantastic service.
The breakfasts were totally awesome, good service and fresh and appetising food.
I was so impressed by the police presence and felt safe enough to take a walk on the promenade very late at night. Although I could not get parking at the hotel, the parking outside on the street was still safe and available.
All in all, a very pleasant stay, excellent service and definately a hotel to come back to.

Well done!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the new look of the hotel after the refurbishment.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhb
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at North Beach for 8 days upto 23 December 2012.

The staff are extremely efficient, warm and friendly which made our stay so pleasant. That goes for the reception, the cleaning staff, the porters and management.

The rooms are comfortable and the newly renovated bathrooms are very nice.

Well done to the North beach team. We enjoyed our holiday with you!

Kind regards.

Asif Jhatham

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that the team exceeded your expectations - they are indeed an asset to our business.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.