We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest beach front in South Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani to your Saves list
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cleanest beach front in South Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I live in Cape Town South Africa, and for many years we never ever wanted to visit Durban again, because of a previous nasty experience that we had there.

One of our grandsons was going to be swimming at the Olympic trials that were being held in Durban this month, so as proud grandparents we decided to go and support him. Our son-in-law booked us into the Southern Sun North beach hotel and I must admit that I became very excited at going, as we heard that they were revamping the hotel and that it was on the beach front of Durban and very safe to walk to the swimming pool where the trials were being held.

To our surprise we found the hotel to be absolutely wonderful and clean, with the most delicious huge breakfasts. The beach front was spotlessly clean and so well kept that we voted it the cleanest Beach front in South Africa.

We are now looking so forward to going to the next trials and sincerely hope that the municipality of Durban keeps up the good work.

From

Rosa Rafferty

Room Tip: Best view of course is the beach front. The higher the floors the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    281
    103
    43
    28
See reviews for
194
119
22
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

From the time we accosted the front desk ......... to the final paying of the bill and sad departure we experienced nothing but the absolute best from everyone in this grand '70's hotel. 3 Friends from around the world, visiting Durban beachfront for the first time together since growing up there over 30 years ago - we were on a mission to enjoy ourselves. Well, the Elangeni, Mike Jackson the Manager and all the staff we encountered, surpassed our greatest expectations. We felt like royalty. Food at breakfast as well as dinners at the Indian and Japanese Restaurants was exceptional. All staff could not do enough for us. Hearty congratulations and thank you's all round - we intend making this a regular sojourn in our lives. Three Cheers Elangeni!

Room Tip: The suite was slightly more spacious than the regular. Both were more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Elangeni. We found all the staff pleasant and helpful. When my husband went to enquire about parking he was offered an upgrade to a complete sea facing room. Even though we were perfectly happy with our half sea/ half city view, we decided to go for the sea view room. The little coffee counter in the foyer serves excellent cappucino's! Only hassle was the overcrowded dining room in the morning. One often had to queue for a seat, and then breakfast was a very loud and crowded experience. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The last time I stayed at the Elangeni, it was situated next to the Maharani Hotel - so there have been quite some changes since then!! The location is good as the beach is across the road and the Conference Centre is a R30.00 taxi ride away. The rooms are functional rather than luxurious with good shower facilities. Breakfast is comprehensive although I felt that some of the offerings (sausages, bacon, beans) could have been warmer. Check-in was efficient and pleasant and, generally speaking, the staff was helpful and polite. As a Southern Sun hotel in a prime location, room rates are on the high side.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

we came down to sunny durban for a quick weekend out of the rat race and boy, did we need the rest. What better way to do it than ending up at the Elangeni. Checkin was easy, especially when we arrived at 11:00 in the morning. Yes we got our room and went straight up to catch a quick snooze after a 5 hour drive. We asked for a refrigerator and they simply gave us a free upgrade to a larger room with one in it.
Views are great when you face the ocean and see the ships on the horizon- all lined up and waiting their turn to dock. closer to the hotel, the boardwalk stretches for miles in both directions and fast food restaurants galore all around you. The hotel has a Japanese restaurant below, looked good, but did not try it. In hotel parking is plentiful, but extremely tight.
The hotel is clean and well located in the middle of the main drag on the beach front. Easily accessible from the highways. Checkout was easy too.
However the best part of this hotel is the breakfast. Unlimited choices of hot, cold foods, continental style, fresh fruits juices, pastries and meats. You choices continue into cereals and other healthy options as well.
we filled up!

Room Tip: the higher you go, the better are the views. The rising sun wakes you up gently. Enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Good Morning

My family and I stayed at the Elangeni between the 30th March 2012 to 5 April 2012. When we arrived at reception on Friday afternoon the staff were really friendly and welcoming. We had arranged for “interleading” rooms and were pleasantly surprised at the setup of the rooms. Two separate rooms with 1 main door that leads to both – very different from other hotels we have stayed at. And great sea views from the 14th floor.
The staff from the Lingela Restaurant are great as were the porters and hospitality staff.

I point we didn't enjoy was the halaal aspect. ("non halaal" dishes are placed at the separate table)

I also was very surprised at the good quality of the in room dining meals (a bit pricy though).
We also had a few meals at the Jewel of India and the food was really really good.

Overall we had a very relaxing time, and felt taken care of.

Regards

Yogi Moodley

Room Tip: For families the inter leading rooms are really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaticket, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A prepared traveler is a well informed one. On the website, this hotel appears well located and well worth the money for a peaceful couple of days. This hotel however does not indicate on its own website that the hotel is currently under construction. So, if you want a peaceful quiet few days, do not book here. It's the principle of the matter that when book a hotel room, you wish to make an informed choice, but they neglect to mention any construction. Then when you check in you're still not informed or given the choice of a room further from the floors under construction. Only when you are in the elevator do you notice a sign indicating contruction from 9:00am to 4:00pm. Believe me, they did not start at 9:00am. Rather it was just after 8:00am. I can go on about not getting ice delivered from room service or finding that your room has been accessed even when you have left the do not disturb sign on the door, but it is the hotels deceptivness that irks me. Stay away

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.