We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A letdown in all aspects” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Court South Beach to your Saves list
Garden Court South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 O R Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Durban
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A letdown in all aspects”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed here for the worldcup for 2 nights. It was a BIG hotel with 20+ floors. There were lots of media staying here.
Room and hotel was old and needs renovation. Bedding was dirty and I used my snuggie instead.
We tried room service, food was awful. Looked at bar at hotel - food looked terrible there too.
Breakfast was a decent service as many options to cater for the 00's guests.
Location was right next to the FIFA fan fest - so we had loud music going until 3am. This won't be there for other guests.
Location for the beach is great as right there - but were were there for the soccer - so we walked on the boardwalk for 30 mins.

I didn't really see any nicer hotels walking along the boardwalk....but this was definitely rundown and not somewhere I'd come back to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    97
    89
    22
    25
See reviews for
122
61
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Two nights were enough to classify this hotel as a very good one. The front desk attention was very good and my room was small but comfortable. In fact, it was very good to sleep only. Amenities were not very sophisticated but worked very well as the very soft towels. For those who want to spend a long time outdoors, this is a very good option indeed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed here for the World Cup games we went to in Durban. It was a FIFA backed hotel and much of the media for the WC staying here. It's also directly across the street from the beach. It's had a major face lift to look nice for the WC. New paint job everywhere, it looks pretty clean overall. Amenities: they had a shower gel & shampoo/conditioner in one plus a bar of soap. i didn't use any of it as it seemed only average. They have a tea kettle and tea & coffee in the room. The beds are ok, not bad for a side sleeper, but could be softer. The breakfast, if you don't include it, is 120 RAND per person - if you don't mind walking, there's a Wimpy's further North on the beach to get breakfast at that'll be only 1/3rd the price - 15 min walk.

Overall, if you want a cheap place to stay on the beach in Durban, stay here. There's a wonderful Indian restaurant 2 blocks North, but it's in a sketchy area if you walk away from the beach (which I wouldn't recommend). Also, cab to the airport will cost you about 500 RAND from here.

If I had my choice, I wouldn't stay here again, it's only for the economical.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with a large group. It was ok, average. Kind of like a holiday Inn in the USA. We did have an ocean view, although there is currently a lot of construction going on outside. Although the ocean looked nice we were disappointed that the area is very unsafe - we were told never to walk outside after dark and in fact one member of our group was mugged just a block from the hotel. Even local people told us we should not be outside! During the day we felt fine walking on the beach and at the outdoor market. (although shopping at Victoria market was much better). We did walk from the hotel to Ushaka Marine world during the day along the beach - about 10 min walk.
The hotel had a good breakfast buffet I was very happy with.
The safe in our room did not work and most others in our group said the same thing. Whenever we asked anyone at the front desk a question about the room or the city they seemed pretty clueless and told us someone would call us back (although they never did). but since we were a large tour group it is possible that they were just overwhelmed. If you are looking for a clean, inexpensive hotel in Durban I would say this one is ok. (although the Garden Court Marine Parade a few blocks up the street did look nicer to me).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Nice beachfront location. As the boulevard is under reconstruction the area is not as nice as it used to be (and will be in future), while there is a lot of noise during day time.
Swimming pool was without water. For it's class, very affordable (appx € 50 per room, incl. breakfast)

Roomy, well lighted, comfortable rooms. Not much of a lounge and only a very limited restaurant.
In the direct neighbourhood there are only hotel restaurants (or a bit scrubby looking ones) which are not very attractive.

Much cosier restaurants are at the Marine Parade (appx 1,5 km further), but at night you need a car or a cab to get there.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed the night of the Lions rugby game in Durban - in some trepidation given the reviews we had read. Every hotel was full and staff everywhere were under pressure. The people at the Garden Court were friendly and helpful and were as helpful as possible. The hotel is old and only slightly refurbished, with small rooms. It is clean, though, and the breakfast buffet was extensive - and the price is reasonable. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

This was once a Holiday Inn. It couldn't be mistaken for one now. Average-sized rooms, in need of redecoration, and with poor heat control. Still, it's a good location if you get a view of the Indian Ocean (not available from all rooms, despite some reviews). The 2nd floor pool is a bit poky, and the underground car park a little gloomy
and over-priced.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 O R Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.