We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing really good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Piatto

Piatto
Shop 140 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 410 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nothing really good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went there once attracted mainly by the name. The food did not impress at all. Menu is pretty basic and so is the quality and the presentation. I would say that ambiance is much better than the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great food value for money excellent service.
definitely worth while.
Will be going the again soon

Thanks Guys.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant, nice ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Food is nicely presented and service is good. Nice decor and fast service.Only eaten here twice, both times were nice. Will give better review once I've tried a 3rd time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Recently went to lunch with relatives for my sister's 70th birthday. The Manager on duty went out of his way to accommodate us by re-arranging the tables and moving us to a corner as we requested. The waitresses were very patient with our "demands" and they smiled all through the afternoon. The food was good, although the portions were a bit too big for some of us, but they packed some doggy bags for us to take. Well done, will certainly be visiting again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Food Bad Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I ate at this restaurant twice, my first visit, the owner was in attendance, I had an awesome curry and rice, so food was good, and service was good. The second time I visited because it had been so good previously, I asked for the same food, service took forever, but the food was good. While i was eating the waiting staff were lazing around chatting at the top of their voices to each other, and also on their cell phones in the restaurant.
So my overall comment would be to go there when the owner will be present to control his employees and you should have a good time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatto also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Piatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piatto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.