We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry but below par” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower

The Mayflower
213 Musgrave Road, Durban, South Africa
0312015433
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 375 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sorry but below par”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was a bit disappointed with the food. As a Chinese, I asked to speak to the chef about what dishes he recommended, but they turned out to be just average. The duck was dry and bland. Wan ton soup was unexciting. Not very authentic but I could feel the chef did try his best.

Nevertheless, the yang chow fried rice and home made toufu dish were good. They also served Tsingtao beer which was a nice touch. It was also a popular take-away place for the locals. So there were some redeeming factors at work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My go to for chinese take-outs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The first thing I can say about this place is that I think a Father runs this place, I think he may even work in the kitchen a bit, and usually his daughter takes orders and serves etc... But they are the most friendly and polite people I've ever met.
Seriously I went back because of how incredibly friendly they are, aside from the food. As for the food, it's great!!! Really enjoy the food here, it's well priced, tasty and all that

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great Chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had dinner here and the food was great. Travel around Asia quite a lot I must say that this restaurant is comparable to some of the good restaurants over there.

The crispy duck, steamed prawns and fried calamari was very tasty!

This husband and wife restaurant is certainly worth a visit to taste some authentic Chinese dishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We love eating here! The Food is wonderful and the husband and wife team are awesome!
Our favourites are the Crispy Duck, Salt and Pepper Squid and their famous Deep Fried Milk!
Prices are very reasonable too!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finally.. Some good Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Not the most spoke about Chinese restaurant in the area, but certainly a place I would recommend for anyone who enjoys or would like to try authentic Chinese food. With friendly service and an added touch as the owner/chef and his brother prepare authentic Chinese cuisine you will feel right at home.
The menu does not have the widest range of meals, but certainly what is offered is well worth it. For both the meat eater and vegetarians, the food has a very fresh, natural and wholesome flavor, leaving that good happy feeling in your tummy.
I would recommend The Mayflower for great take out, family dinners, get together with friends and even that intimate date.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayflower also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.