We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Mood.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unity

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Unity
117 Silverton Road | Silvevause Centre, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 312013470
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 339 restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Durban
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Good Food, Good Mood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Even though we are over 50s we didn't feel out of place in this rather trendy gastro-pub teeming with young 'uns. Unity serves really great food - burgers, curries, steaks, deep-fried olvies, jalapeno poppers, tappas/mezze - and good wine list, and although I don't do beer - I believe that is also notable. Last time we were there, our waitron was Ed - and he was the Man. We'll be back ...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    17
    18
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Birthday Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had an awesome birthday at Unity late last year. I had heard such great things and wasn't disappointed. The vibe was casual but cool. The food was superb and I was surprised by the value for money. As for the craft beer selection... we could have spent a week going through them & never got bored! High Fives for Unity!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Menu with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Enjoyable options, good burgers, bean curry, steaks. Very nice starters to make up a platter to share. Buzzy restaurant especially when rugby is on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxed and awesome beers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The food here is far above your average bar food. Absolutely delicious and i'm not much of a beer drinking but I did sample a couple of their brews and was very impressed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“good casual version of the more sophisticated nearby cafe 1999”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

very good notably for burgers, casual atmosphere, good service , better to avoid peak hours since can be very noisy

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unity also viewed

Gillitts, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Unity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.