We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid service! George and his wife are horrid owners!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China Plate

China Plate
Shop 12, Park Boulevard 11 Brownsdrift Road | Umgeni Riverside Park, Durban, South Africa
27315646437
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 370 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durban
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrid service! George and his wife are horrid owners!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The food is amazing! but the owners attitudes stink! and even though they receive a bad review, they will not give a damn! if it wasn't for the food I would never step foot in those arrogant rude peoples restaurant! as a restaurant owner service and attitude is the most important... with George & his wife they are the worst people I have ever come across in my life! my father was disgusted with the way George and his wife spoke when we were ordering... pathetic service and pathetic people!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unsatisfied”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

They are not very helpful and the owner is very rude. I placed a telephonic order and when i got there an hour ago my order was still not done. The owner told me that if I'm not happy i must just go.... Very unprofessional

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Finest Chinese Restaurant in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Chef George Wu and his wife Hong run an unpretentious venue with food better than the best I have eaten in China. Routinely our first choice in Chinese. Fresh ingredients and great hospitality. Always good to ask for the "Chinese" menu. Parties of about 10 can book a private room with a lazy susan.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dinner date”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Food and service needs to be improved. Whilst the menu is varied, they really need to pay more attention to detail. Parking is limited, they can definately enhance to make this a great dining experiance.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Another very good visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Generally the standard of Asian food (apart from Indian curries) in Durban is poor, but China Plate is one of the better restaurants. Excellent service, generous portions and fresh ingredients make for a pleasant meal. The house specialty of garlic langoustines in their shells is a highlight and they are very well prepared so surprisingly easy to peel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Plate also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to China Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.