We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of sight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
40 Gladys Mazibuko (Marriott) Road | Essenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
31 309 8581
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 339 restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out of sight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This Restaurant is unusual in that you walk up a drive way to where they have converted what appears to be garages into an eatery, I was there on a Friday and they had live music. There is open air seating, the floor is loose stone with metal chairs and did not appear too comfortable. The Patio and chairs and tables inside were much better. The waiters were friendly and knew the menu well, it was a small menu with limited choice. I am not sure if they change it often. The food was not too bad but nothing to rave about. The atmosphere compensates though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    42
    25
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
2 reviews
“Beautiful Sunday Afternoon with live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had lunch with some friends in this wonderful establishment. Burgers look amazing. I had a chicken Pasta that was to die for. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly and quick to help. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone eating out in Durban.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Not too bad, but not good enough to warrant a return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Food was ok, ambience is nice, especially on a warm spring or summers night out in the courtyard area ... but sadly I found the food just ok and the service even more so.

Not somwhere I would rush back to!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sit in the courtyard & chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The service is always so good here that you could while away hours in the courtyard while enjoying any one of their meals - the calamari & quinoa salad with feta and macadamia nuts is sublime and their fresh juices are delicious - I always go for the watermelon one when available.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

And also good food. Very nice setting to have dinner. Nice terrace. It`s a pitty you walk through the kitchen area to go to the restroom. Service was good. Would come back to try a lunch orso.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Gillitts, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.