We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durban city tour” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Adventures - Durban City Walk Tour

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Urban Adventures - Durban City Walk Tour
Durban, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #26 of 39 Tours & Activities in Durban
Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Durban city tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

On the advertisement paper it said we where going to visit markets and musea, experiencing cultural and historical things. Of the 5 hour tour we spent 45 min driving to the footballstadium, we told our tour guide we were not into sports but still we spent another hour just looking at it. Then we visited the tourist market, which felt uncomfortable because it was clear he had deals with certain merchants, so we had to enter these shops and it felt like we were obligeted to buy things. The worest part was when we entered a shop that sold ivory jewelery and things made from elephant hair. I felt very insulted because we had just come back from a trip to the Krugerpark where poaching is still a humungous problem and animals get slaughtered every day. We then did the herb market which was really interesting to see, but unfortunately there was no explainations of the things we saw. After that we were dropped for lunch (after he first wanted to get his own food somewhere else) and apparentely the tour had ended 2 hours before the tour actually had to end. We were told lunch was included, it was not. My travelling partner asked him why we did not went to the museums, at the end we rushed trough 2 musea in an half an hour. As a tourist you always get ripped-off at some point, but this was the worest case I ever came across. It costed 750 R per person, so about 67 euros.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Explore Fascinating Durban With a Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My son and I spent the day with Pascale from Durban City Tours on March 25, 2013, exploring both the highlights and the interesting nooks and crannies around this beautiful yet also hard-scrabble South African Port City. Pascale was fascinating to talk to, and provided us with a fresh, honest, uniquely local perspective on the city.

We drove along the Golden Mile, visited the maritime museum, drove into the city centre, bought souvenirs at the Indian Market and then ventured into the hubbub, excitement and grime of the authentic downtown local market, where medicines are made for witch doctors alongside women roasting corn on the cob on grills. From there we visited the world cup soccer stadium, catapulting from the third to the first world in just a few moments.

Pascale had a route in mind, but was flexible in what we wanted to do, and entirely open and responsive to our questions and suggestions. It was a memorable day spend with a friendly, warm, informative local, and I highly recommend giving Durban City Tour Guides a call if you want a terrific orientation to Durban. (031) 0959.337.1979, or info@durbancitytourguides.co.za, or www.durbancitytourguides.ca.za.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beachfront promenade, Durban Kwazulu Natal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have not been to Durban for a few years and recently I spent a couple of days in the city. I had an opportunity to walk down the paved promenade on the sea-front. It is like the water-fronts in Miami and Fort Lauderdale in the United States in that the space is shared between walkers, runners, casual cyclists, prams, children skate-boards etc all mixing easily in the 50 metre wide paved area. I walked from the car park at the North Beach side down to I-Shaka-the amusement park at the South End of the parade. The return trip was about 4.5 kms and took a leisurely 50 minutes.
On the sea-side there are about 6 separate beaches, half of them fully manned by lifesavers and there are sand scupltures all the way along depicting all sorts of subjects.On the other side there are a variety of entertainment sites. There is a full-size swimming complex, putting course,fun-fair rides and lots of water features . I saw several police on bikes, motor cycles and walking. The parade was spotless and there were workers trimming the gardens all along the way. I would imagine that over a weekend, the place would be crowded but it is a site that Durban can be proud of

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“South African Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

On arrival at Durban we headed for St Lucia. Here we did the Hippo boat cruise on the St Lucia Estuary. We also saw the crocodile centre where they demonstrated the feeding of the crocodiles.
Next morning we did the iMofolozi Game reserve drive where we got to see Zebras, Imphalas, Rhinos, Elephants, Giraffes, wart hogs and water buffalos. This was a full day tour of the game reserve where you drive out in the safari jeeps deep into the wilderness. If you are lucky you get to see the Big 5. If not you should be happy you got to see the Zebra grazing a couple of feet from the road.

The next day we had a Zulu tribe experience at Shakaland. Lots of tribal dancing and ethnic food. The tribals get to interact with the visitors.

Couple of days later we headed to the South Coast for another adventure....the Zip line experience and further on for the deep sea diving sites to swim with the sharks. Both experiences were mind blowing.

You need to be well attired for the adventure for the weather can change suddenly. So see that you have good walking shoes, a sun hat and maybe a windsheeter in case there is a sudden drop in temperatures. A handy camera to capture moments in life and ofcourse lots of liquids to quench your thirst because it gets hot and dry.

South Africa a truly exotic destination with a blend of the old with the modern. You will fall in love with this country the moment you step into it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Adventures - Durban City Walk Tour also viewed

 

Been to Urban Adventures - Durban City Walk Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Adventures - Durban City Walk Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.