We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 3 day tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris

Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris
Durban, South Africa
+27 71 453 2781
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 42 activities in Durban
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are a Specialist Safari Tour company based in Durban and Specialists in Nature, Cultural and Historical Safari Tours namely: Big 5 game reserve Safaris/Tours, Zulu Cultural Safari/Tours, Battlefield Safari/Tours from Durban throughout KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa. We focus on Big 5 Bush Safaris/Tours/Experiences, Drakensberg Safaris/Tours/Experiences and Battlefield Safaris/Tours/Experiences. We are highly recommended with very good ratings on TripAdvisor: Tim Brown Tours - Day Tours as well as being owner run and guided with attention to detail to ensure your Durban Safari Tour experience is once in a lifetime. Durban, KwaZulu-Natal has so much to offer our clients from the majestic Ukhahlamba Drakensberg Mountain range, Zulu Cultural Villages, Big 5 Safari Tours, Battlefield Historical Tours and much more...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing 3 day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My travel companion and I booked Tim Brown tour and has a great time. We were promptly picked up at our hotel and driven to the Cat rehabilitation center where we both get to pet the Cheetah, wow. We continued to the Reserve and on the first day witnessed a lot of nature's wonders. We say a herd of 70 elephants and much more. The second day was a bit grey however it was great for some of the animals and great for picture taking. Lucky for us as nature would have it, the lions killed their tray and were very close to the roadway. We continued on the third day adding the river cruise and say lots of Hyppos. Being the beginning of springs we say lots of younger animals. Tim's vast knowledge about the communities, animals, their habits and the culture made this trip exceed our expectation. One of the good thing was the closed vehicle. Great for photos and good for any weather. Tim's really care about the animals and explained why certain steps were taken during the safari. The price is very fair and the room was great. Our friends who took the tour a few days before us also had a great experience.
Thanks Tim.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Suzanne

Thank you for your review that Lioness on the Kill was amazing so close to the road!

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked a 3 day tour for a group of 8 friends from Durban to Hluhluwe Umfolozi and St Lucia. Tim was great from the start, replying quickly to questions before booking and adjusting the tour slightly to include a cat rehabilitation centre which we really wanted to include. Everything about the tour was great, Tim was incredibly knowledgable and made the tour a lot of fun. We saw lots of animals and Tim knew his way around the game reserve like the back of his hand. The Hilltop safari lodge that we stayed in was great with fantastic views over the game reserve. We opted to go with the open top game drives with the lodge and Tim took us out during the day. I'd recommend booking at least one of these so that you get a real safari experience in the open vehicle and we also saw a lot of animals on the early morning game drives. It was also a great experience doing the night time drives trying to spot animals in the dark with big torches.

We all had a wonderful time, it would be difficult to have a bad time when you are surrounded by such amazing scenery and wildlife but it was Tim that really made the tour for us, we felt that he was part of our group and didn't want to say goodbye at the end! Thanks Tim for a fab trip :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Vicky

Glad you all enjoyed it, thanks for the review.

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fano
1 review
“How to feel the wild life really around you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Tim is a very special and always backed up by knowledge Guide.
I’d also say he is a hunter of happiness, and always reaches his preys.
The best part is when the car stops near a wild animal ... In the beginning I couldn't understand why we were switching the engine off and lowering safetly enough the windows ... But then I got it ... The smell, the air, the noise of the grass ... The wild life was there, just a few meters away, in its beauty.
Will be more than delited to join another of his tours and it would be for sure including a bush walk !!
Thanks Tim

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Luca

Thank you for the great review.

I am glad you could all take something out of the tour.

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trip of a life time (Denise B)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was part of Team GB & NI well what can I say it was a trip of a life time one which I will forget.
Tim did a great job looking after us all as we were rather a large group. Our driver Pumo's trained eye
made sure we did not miss any thing.Seeing such beautiful birds and animals in the wild was amazing.
Tim organised a boat trip for us also we saw a large group of hippo's crocs in and out of the water.After wards we had a lovely lunch on board. accommodation was ideal for us. many dishes of food to choose from made sure we were all well fead and watered.We did a 3 day safari and packed in such lot in our time there.Would definately recommend Tim Browns tours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Denise

Thank you for your review much appreciated.

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime - no way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Thought this would be a 'do it once' trip but I can't wait to go back! Great value for money, friendly staff with so much local knowledge and amazing safari drivers who did their very best to make each drive personal. Saw everything we wanted except the cats - all the more reason to go back and would definitely go to Tim for help and advice.
Off to buy a lottery ticket now!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for the review Im sure you will be back.

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tim Brown Tours - Private Day Safaris to your Saves list