We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Dory

John Dory
The Pier | Wilson's Wharf, Durban, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 339 restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: There are a chain of these restaurants throughout Durban
Restaurant details
Description: There are a chain of these restaurants throughout Durban
Kloof, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Specifically John Dory Wilsons Wharf. Excellent waitron "Chucky" Did not know that they served breakfast and was sooo nice sitting outside and watching the gulls and they even gave us bread to feed the fish/birds Lovely venue. Came back for dinner and same good food and good service

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    3
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We brought my Aunt who was visiting from the UK to see the docks where the ships she had been watching from our balcony in Umhlanga come to unload & load their cargoes - Wilson's Wharf is a bustling place to see the action & lunch at John Dory was just what we needed - friendly staff & good food - what more could we want ...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“best pleace in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The people and staff work to make it so enjoyable that it is not forgotting the food is so so so enjoyable it is hard to choose from there mena we go to them on all all our birthdays becuse they make it our day each and every time

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant suprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I recently took a week off to spend some time at the coast with my family and stayed in Umlanga. We decide to take a drive to Durban and ended up at the Wilson wharf where I had previously taken a harbour cruise from. I must say that the Wharf is not really looking too good and I was not sure we would have a good time there but everybody was hunger so we ended up having lunch at John Dory's. What an absolute pleasure! We were welcomed warmly and our little boy was immediatly given a kiddies pack to settle him in and we where seated on the waters edge. The food was great, wine chilled perfectly and all the staff and Manager was atentive and friendly. If you are in the area stop in, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I do not recommend, very poor service, starter came after main meal. The manager came to apologize but was not friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Dory also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to John Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Dory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.