We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Adorable B&B You'll Ever Go To” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Upper Room

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added An Upper Room to your Saves list
An Upper Room
60 Clair Avenue | Manor Gardens, Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 235 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“The Most Adorable B&B You'll Ever Go To”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I chose "An Upper Room" because it immediately reminded me of home when I saw the Pictures of it on the web and on arrival it was every bit the home away from home I had imagined and then some. It was warm, cosy, and I felt like I was walking into My own front door. The hosts and staff were so friendly and extremely welcoming. I had the most amazing view of the harbour in my room and coupled with the all white linen and cutest decor I was in my own little heaven. The breakfast was amazing and was always something to look Forward to every morning. There is no doubt in my mind that on my return to Durban me and my special guest who came over will choose An Upper room once more. I miss it already.

Room Tip: The Willow Room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also very happy that you felt relaxed and at home. On your return to Durbs we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Edith, Connie and Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
17
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were greeting by a very friendly host and her crew and felt at home immediately:) The rooms are lovely, clean and well maintained, a lot of love and care has been put into them to ensure they are tastefully decorated. The breakfasts are out of the world, something to look forward to when you wake up.
Thank you so much Edith and Connie for looking after us so beautifully. We will definitely be back. I know Katie will miss Bentley:)

Room Tip: They were all beautiful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it really does mean a lot to us when guests take the trouble to review our B&B. We are also extremely happy that your stay with us was a comfortable one. Our little Bentley loved all the attention that he got from Katie. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Edith, Connie and Leon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbabane, Swaziland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'm glad I chosen "An Upper Room" during our stay in Durban, very kind and friendly owners and staff and a cute doggy. The location is very safe and convenience to all place you want to go, the room were very clean and comfortable, the parking area was secured as well, I definitely will choose An Upper Room again and strongly commend their good service!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our B&B, this means a lot to us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with and that it was a comfortable one.

Our goal is to ensure that each and every guest has a safe and comfortable stay with us and we will do our very best to make sure that it happens. We really enjoyed having you at our Bed and Breakfast and look forward to your coming back.

Leon and I hope that your return trip to Swaziland was a safe one.

Kind Regards
Edith and Leon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I were very happy with the hospitality and a great quality of services offered to us during our second stay at "An Upper Room";

Big thank you to the most amazing & friendly hosts who made our stay a remarkable moment, a good time, intimate, enjoyable, comforting and secure.

I will definitely recommend "Upper Room" to friends and family and I'm sure we'll be back to enjoy the comfortable&spotless room, the variety of fresh and delicious breakfasts and your friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review An Upper Room. Leon and I are delighted that you felt comfortable and at home in our B&B. We are even more delighted and honoured to claim your title of “Our favourite Spot”. We look forward to your next visit to Durbs.

Sincerely
Edith and Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Thank you so much for excellent hospitality, everything was perfect from the geographical location to the friendly ambience. The room was well kept and clean providing a comfortable and happy stay. The breakfast's were delicious and well presented. I felt secure and well look aftered. Will definately return here for accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B, we really appreciate it and are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again, on your return.

Kind regards

Edith and Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms. Very friendly and welcoming owners and staff. The area was quite safe, it was central to amenities, like +_5 min away from CBD, +_10min away from the Stadium. Parking was quite secured. Electronics in the room were all in working condition. There is a small reserved dog, just thought I'd mention that for anyone who might be allergic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it really means a lot to us when our guests take the trouble to review An Upper Room and leave such nice comments. We hope we see you soon when you are back in Durbs again.

Kind Regards

Edith, Leon and Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Relaxing, calm, intimate and warm. At home away from home. We where excepted with open arms and arrangement where made to suite our specific requirements even though we did not make any pre-arrival arrangements. We where accommodated without prejudice although we where sensitive that no prior arrangement where made, or no over the top short notice fees where instituted. A real feeling of humanity, integrity and respect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, Leon and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We believe that we do what we can to make your stay a comfortable one and will always welcome our guests with a warm and homely feeling.
We look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Edith and Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Upper Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Upper Room

Address: 60 Clair Avenue | Manor Gardens, Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Upper Room Bed and Breakfast is situated on the Durban's ridge with a spectacular view over the harbor. Set away from the main roads in tranquil surroundings and frequented by many species of birds. We are situated at the top of Pigeon Valley which teems with numerous species of wild life. An Upper Room offers peace and tranquility for the business executive or holiday maker. Children of all ages are welcome, and those who are 5 years and under stay for free. There is a street patrol 24 hours a day in the area to ensure that the area is safe. We are 800m from the KZN University Howard Collage, within walking distance. We have two dogs Lily & Bentley, who love visitors especially children, and are friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your An Upper Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Upper Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.