We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrestling with Bees at Harvey's Umhlanga” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's

Harvey's
Shop 13, Umhlanga Centre | 189 Ridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks, Durban 4320, South Africa
031 561 4977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 375 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wrestling with Bees at Harvey's Umhlanga”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Frequented the Old Harvey's in Morningside , extremely excited to join my family luncheon at Harvey's Umhlanga......a dismal eating experience. The vegetarian menu was minimal. The huge cheerful smiles of our attentive and enthusiastic waiter couldn't deviate from the bland food.Mains were served luke warm and had to be reheated. To make matters worse, we had to contest with a swarm of bees - one literally fell into my dessert. Bill was exorbitant. A distasteful and disappointing experience. Certainly will not be going back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Harveys over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Expensive dishes and not quite the high end quality one would expect for such high prices.

Service was good though but wouldn't go back in a hurry

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Steak from heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We went for lunch, I had the ribeye. What an experience! The portion was generous, cooked to perfection . Veg on the side brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillitts, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The food was superb and the service tops!!! We were not rushed at all and spent a leisurely lunch enjoying our delicious meal

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could not ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

In my opinion - the absolute best Durban has to offer - beautiful decor , fantastic food and we were looked after like royalty - my food advice - share the mussel starter - but the menu changes often.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Harvey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.