We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvey's a culinary blessing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's

Harvey's
Shop 13, Umhlanga Centre | 189 Ridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks, Durban 4320, South Africa
031 561 4977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 373 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Harvey's a culinary blessing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Harvey's has everything a great restaurant needs. A friendly staff, nice vibe, the place looks really good and last but not least: the food is very well cooked. We loved the Kudu and the duck.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Trendy, tasty and enjoyable once you get comfortable w/the corseted waiters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great lamb dish at lunch and yummy twist on fish and chips. Sorbets were delightful. Dined on the deck.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Autumn's Superb Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A surprise birthday dinner at Harvey's was exciting and new. Upon arrival we were greeted and seated indoors, very romantic table with soothing music and good decor( except the animal heads mounted on the wall), found out later the restaurant used to be a hunting club,Good range of wines and spirits to accompany meals.
The menu was interesting ( chef changes menu every 6 weeks)from hot starter soups to Kudu fillet to a variety of desserts. Good food,friendly staff and very lively atmosphere on the outside verandah and balconies, huge lounges for cigar and brandy. Finished off with a great cup of cappuccino. We were happy with our evening out at Harvey's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I used to love Harveys for it's atmosphere & food.

The menu was still impressive but the execution was some what different.

No one finished their meals. My venison fillet was so tough I could not eat it.

Incredibly over priced if the food is sub par.

What happened to you Harveys??? Bounce back!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Major Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went to Harveys for our anniversary.

Service was slow and unattentive.

Food was average and insanely expensive for what is served. I do not mind paying for good quality food, in fact its what I look for. These prices should offer the best cuisine. Sad to say, we were very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Harvey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.