We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definitive Durban fine dining experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's

Harvey's
Shop 13, Umhlanga Centre | 189 Ridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks, Durban 4320, South Africa
031 561 4977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 410 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ladybrand, Free State, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The definitive Durban fine dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

There's not enough words to describe the wonderful experience that Harvey's present to all the senses....a beautifully opulent space with character and charm. A relaxed atmosphere with infinite attention to detail.....all that before I even get to mention the service and the food! Oh the food the glorious food! The menu offers a beautiful tapestry of inventive and exciting choices, one can not resist wanting to try everything! The service in a nutshell: fantastic! This is, simply said: the best restaurant in South Africa!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening - will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a really lovely evening. Very warm and professional service from the staff. EXCELLENT food. Lovely wine, and all in all - a super evening. Not for the financially faint-hearted, but then... a safe bet if you're wanting a'successful' time. Very nice to be at an upmarket, boutique type of environment - not in a mass-numbers hotel chain place. Nice venue/location. We'll certainly go back a couple of times a year if we can.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I could have opted for a number of items on the menu but chose the pork belly sandwich - it was completely delicious. I could have licked the plate. Also good wine by the glass. Just a rather odd young waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely cant find a fault with this place, food was fantastic, decor was fantastic, wine list was great and the service faultless... Just glad i wasnt paying.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu and a great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were looking for a place for lunch in Durban this week. Drove past Harvey's which looked beautiful so we decided to try it out. The Cafe menu was amazing - nothing we didn't want to try. Our pork belly sandwich was divine and beautifully presented. My only negative comment Watson the service which was unfriendly and lethargic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Harvey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.