We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but not go on my own money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coastlands Musgrave Hotel to your Saves list
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315-319 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Musgrave, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Coastlands on the Ridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“ok but not go on my own money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

did 2 stays there that were arranged by travel agent. the website is very misleading as standard rooms are small and view etc limited if any. restaurant - ask for the a la carte as this is quite good. buffet is a buffet. note there is no pork served here so no bacon at breakfast. avoid room ending in 21 as you will here the central aircon all the time. it has lots of false glitz which can be a bit cheap looking

Room Tip: not ending in 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    12
    12
    9
See reviews for
9
16
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked a surprise afternoon couples treatment at the spa and overnight stay at the Coastlands on the Ridge for my husbands birthday. Well it was pure bliss!! The spa treatment was good, but our room was magnificent, the luxury of our suite was unbelievable! On return to our room after the treatment there was a cheese platter and wine awaiting us in our room, as arranged by the GM Andre v Wyk. The night's fine Indian cuisine buffet and music on the patio was just the way to celebrate his birthday! We were so disappointed that we only book for one night stay and really didn't want to go home!! well done on make a normal birthday a very special occasion!

Room Tip: The suite on the 5th floor is just amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Today I went to the woman in business network breakfast at Coastlands, and what a lovely experience, the staff and presentation were exquisite and overall very professional and friendly. The food I would rate as 5 stars with a variety of flavours available in the cooked breakfast buffet, as well as fresh fuits, beautifully presented croissants, muesli and yogurt garnished tastefully and creatively, with stemmed cherries and shavings of sugared orange zest.

Tables were clean and beautifully presented with flowers and clean cutlery. Well done to Coastlands you treated us really well and your service excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

the rooms are extremely small.My wife requested an iron and ironing board for 5 minutes and we were told that they do not provide it for safety reasons.on walking out of the room the next door room was open and lo and behold those guests had an iron and ironing board.the management seem to select which guests to provide services to.on the plus side the bed and pillows were comfortable and the breakfast was not too bad

Room Tip: if you have to stay in this hotel,ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Superb hotel with exceptional service overlooking Durban. Situated perfectly for access to the stadium and routes to north and south coast. Although the hotel was empty, we had a rear facing room for our 7 night stay which was a little disappointing , but the views of the city are awesome, insist on a forward facing room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is located on a ridge that provides a wonderful view of Durban and a sense of being in the thick of things. Each guest room as far as I am aware has a balcony, but this did not affect sleep too much. The rooms are impeccably cleaned and service is prompt and dependable. Breakfast was an average buffet, but well prepared. staff are friendly and efficient. A gym would make this hotel perfect. The in-house spa is very convenient and accommodating. I had a last minute treatment done with professionalism and care.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are preferable to avoid waiting for the lift, and use the stairs instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Took a family holiday to this superb hotel last year . Room was extremely spacious, contemporary, functional and everything you could ask for. Wifi awesome, Halaal Breakfast, great service and heavenly spa..... My wife still maintains that the Fleur de lis spa at Coastlands does the best pedicure.... Thanks Charlene.

Room Tip: If you book a spa treatment ou qualify for discounted rates on the accommodation,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coastlands Musgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Address: 315-319 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Musgrave, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Coastlands on the Ridge)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Musgrave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Crest of Ridge road with spectacular views over Durban, Coastlands Musgrave Hotel offers 101 modern and comfortable bedrooms. It boasts 58 Standard Rooms, 41 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites. This hotel is ideal for the discerning corporate, leisure and international traveler and is situated minutes away from Durban's iconic Moses Mabhida stadium, Greyville Racecourse, Suncoast Casino, uShaka Marine World, Durban Beaches on the Golden Mile and is a mere 35 minutes drive from King Shaka International Airport. Durban University of Technology is 2.5 km from the hotel.Our 6th floor conference and events centre is the ideal venue for your next conference, function or special occasion and we are able to tailor-make a package that suit your needs. We work with suppliers of the highest standard and we are able to assist in any decor or technical requirements.Sip on a cocktail or your favorite drink on our terrace or next to the pool, and enjoy a scrumptious A-la-Carte dinner in our 315 Restaurant. Our Friday evening Spice and Saturday night Seafood Buffet is legendary and offers live entertainment. Room service is available 24 hours a day and our coffee shop serves delectable cakes and desserts.All our bedrooms are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, flat-screen televisions with DSTV and tea & coffee making facilities, laundry service and turndown service.Our friendly and professional staff at the Concierge desk is able to assist you in transport arrangements, luggage storage and guests are welcome to make use of our business centre which offers internet, printing and fax facilities. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.Coastlands Musgrave Hotel welcomes you to Durban, and invites you to explore and experience our beautiful province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Coastlands Musgrave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastlands On The Ridge Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.