We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moyo Ushaka

Moyo Ushaka
1 Bell Street | uShaka Marine World, Point, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 31 332 0606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 410 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: African, Bar, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Moyo Ushaka is a uniquely Durban destination offering the perfect place in which to relax and watch the world go by.Cocktails at the Beach Bar, exquisite views of the Indian Ocean, tropical weather, exotic flavours and soulful vibes - this is Africa at its laidback best.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was the worst restaurant experience in a long time - perhaps ever.

I ordered a prego which came with a cardboard like piece of steak and soggy rolls. My wife had calamari which was marinated in something like golden syrup.... awful.

Any other place is better value....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo Ushaka, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your input - we are working on the issues you raised.

regards,

the moyo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    93
    58
    37
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location right on the beach in a very safe area. Awesome food and very friendly staff. Will visit again :-)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo Ushaka, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Martin,

Thanks very much for your positive words - we will work hard to keep up the good work!

Regards,

the moyo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Moyo - Oh No!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

On April the 30th we went to Moyo to celebrate a double birthday - well I know the weather wasn't great but firstly when they had to stuff a blanket into a gap in the door so we weren't blown away I knew things weren't going well for Moyo! Then it started to rain and guess what the rain poured in on us from the ceiling above - surely someone should do maintainence at this venue!
Things seemed to deteriorate from then on - my wife asked for a baked potatoe in preference to mash - no can do, the chef doesn't know how to bake a potatoe!!! OMG! Then when I explained how to perform this menial task we were told it would take another 30 minutes - we weren't asking them to grow the damn thing! When it did eventually arrive it looked like a deep fried potatoe with the skin on - we gave up. Her Mozambique Peri-Peri Chicken was as dry as tinder, when we approached the 'manager' Wayne with the problem he offered a sauce to add moisture to the dried chicken - the delay in getting the sauce was ridiculous and when it came it was liquid fire!!!
I had the oxtail which was tender but tasteless!!! No one else at the table raved about their meal either.
They tried to save the evening with their redition of Happy Birthday at the end - to little too late.
In my opinion this is just a tourist trap, giving the African feeling with poor to disasterous food knowing the tourists are off to other far away places and probably will never return.
We could to so much better to promote our African heritage and cuisine - no wonder the Moyo Group is in dire straits!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo Ushaka, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Russell A,

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback.

We will benefit from this input greatly, and will also endeavour to improve our offering in the future.

Regards,

the moyo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Go for a sundowner...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

What a setting! Perched in the edge of the pier, with one of the best vies of Durban's Golden Mile Skyline. Go for a sundowner and watch the sunset of pinks transfer into the glistening lights if the city when dusk is over. Just a warning, be patient. The service is slow. But worth the scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo Ushaka, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dera Henk S

Thank you so much for your kind words!

We will work hard on improving the speed of service.

Thanks again

The moyo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not all that”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Then scenery is beautiful but the service has a lot to be desired for. The food wasn't all that too.. I'm sorry but I won't be back in a hurry

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo Ushaka, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi, Jose

Please could you drop us a mail at ushaka@moyo .com to discuss your experience?

We would really appreciate it.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moyo Ushaka also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Moyo Ushaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moyo Ushaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.