We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Taste Sensation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage India

Vintage India
20 Windermere Road | Windermere, Durban, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 432 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hillcrest, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Indian Taste Sensation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The flavours are what blows you away. Though the décor is a little worse for wear it is completely blown from mind once you experience the explosion of tastes that makes Indian cuisine famous. The only other dark point was the desserts – though tasty, it was Italian sorbets and somehow unfitting to an otherwise brilliant little restaurant. The service was always friendly and helpful. The magic though was the food. It was so overwhelmingly good that another and another visit is already on the cards.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hot as Hell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Loved the variety of food. Please make sure to ask the level of hotness as you won't enjoy your food if it's too strong (true story!)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best curry, faded decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love the food, it was the best curry selection ever! the decor could use a fresh coat of paint, otherwise tasty and good.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My first indian dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The service was just great. As it was my first time eating indian the service suppost our dishes. We were 3 person and so sche told us wat itsnt good and to try differt sauces (one creamy, one spicy etc) fror us it was very good and we eat a lot (also vine). I only gave 4 points, because i dont know if it was delicious, no experience. Just can recomment

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tasty and authentic Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spent a lot of time reviewing Indian restaurants before settling on Vintage India and I wasn't disappointed. The extensive menu was impressive and when our food came, no one was disappointed. The curries were expertly spiced and the flavors mixed perfectly. It's located a short walk from safe and busy Florida Road. The ambiance definitely leaves something to be desired and the restaurant itself could use some TLC, but it in no way spoiled the wonderful food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage India also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Vintage India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.