We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great design, wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Concierge Boutique Bungalows to your Saves list
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great food, great design, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I really liked the concierge! The food in the freedom cafe is excellent and all of the little touches really added to the design and aesthetics. It's clear the owners have a great eye for detail and our balcony was like a tiny oasis.
The only downsides are the difficulties in keeping out noise from the hallway or the street. In general, not a huge problem. And it was a bit odd that our room didn't have a separate bathroom door, instead the bathroom was divided by a curtain. Keep in mind this somewhat unique set up if you're planning to share your room. One note: you should probably have a GPS to stay here, otherwise it would be really tricky to find. It is, however, close to lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
60
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, fabulous & brilliant in three words!
Excellent value 4 money. A qwerky establishment with unsurpassed style and comfort.
The use of space in the rooms is awesome!
Fabulous to lounge on the "stoep" with a glass of champers....
Highly highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We liked the hotel itself its really nice trendy,unique but did not like the where its situated. Airport to the hotel it was too far and we had to take taxi everywhere. Service was superb! Breakfast was excellent but shame it is hidden Gem! even taxi driver sometime did not know where was the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked via hotels.com. We were looking for a smaller property and staying at the beach was not important to us. The property is very nice, food is tasty and the customer service is top notch. Try the pumpkin fritters!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the first visit to Durban for my wife and I and we had to decide between an ocean-facing hotel or this one. We opted this hotel for 3 nights due to the favourable reviews and we weren't disappointed. We took an airport shuttle bus from to the hotel (ZAR 70/person, 45 minutes) however the driver wasn't very familiar with the place but he found it eventually. Check-in was smooth and the courtyard facing room was large and cosy. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the rainshower.

The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed eating al fresco in the courtyard area. There was a wedding reception on one night in the courtyard area and if you prefer some peace and quiet then you should opt for rooms with balcony which face away from the courtyard. We were OK with it as things quietened down later in the night - it was after all a wedding celebration hence we understand.

On the last day we had to leave for the airport at 7 am and they were very kind in preparing an earlier than usual breakfast for us. Nice touch.

Overall, a highly enjoyable stay. Highly recommended. Close to most city attractions. About 20 minutes from Gateway shopping complex.

Room Tip: For quieter rooms you may wish to opt for balcony rooms although it faces a small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have not stayed anywhere else in Durban nor would I want to. The trendy and unique style of the hotel itself is super fun and creates a modern, comfortable feel. The staff deliver on the stylings and are themselves friendly, hip and beautiful. They and the management know who you are and seem dedicated to adding personal touches to each individual's stay. They'll greet you by name, help you plan your day and travels, and go the extra mile on everything.

The Freedom Café, on site but technically its own independent business, is super stellar. The complimentary breakfast is amazing and I can only imagine that their public menu is fun and delicious.

Simply put, one of the best boutique hotels I've stayed anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and likely the same cost; they seem to be filled on an arbitrary basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just a gem of a place. As cute as it gets rooms, an incredible staff, unbelievable breakfast in one of the most down to earth contemporary African atmosphere spots. Really a not to be missed spot. 5 minute cab ride from ICC.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.