We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durban Highlight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Save Saved
You added The Concierge Boutique Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Durban
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Durban Highlight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

While we weren't overly impressed by Durban the highlight of this part of the trip was the hotel. We stayed in rooms 3.1 and our travel partners in room 4.1. These rooms are very large and light. A few basic things were missing e.g shower gel, tumblers for drinking, and there were a few maintenance issues. Our ceiling fan did not work and no one came to address it even after calling twice. Overall the staff were very good. Breakfast was a highlight with the ability to choose from the restaurant menu. We did have the misfortune of being in the restaurant while the hotel manager was speaking to the staff about changes in the breakfast menu. While her changes made commercial sense and no one can't fault her, the tone she used with her staff was patronizing and unacceptable. This should also not have been done within earshot of guests. The food quality and portions were great. A couple of small issues, the rooms with a view to the car park can get a bit noisy very early on weekday mornings given the offices located in the same area. Also the floors in the breakfast area were not kept clean. Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request the king suites 3.1 or 4.1 were good. Away from the car park if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
34
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We loved the apartment, modern, stylishly designed, with all the amentities needed. The patio blew us away with its palm trees, other beautiful plants and a comfortable sofa bed. If was a true pleasure to chill out there in the evening. Breakfasts are de-li-cious, whether it's eggs or ricotta pancakes! Great thanks to wonderful staff for your advice and help. 'Concierge' was a perfect introduction to South Africa :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We loved the Concierge! Fantastic small, friendly boutique hotel with large and luxurious rooms and great cafe. Primrose and Sanele were the most lovely and welcoming staff - we felt like friends after only a few days and were genuinely sad to leave them. Rooms are beautifully designed and fitted out - large and luxurious with lovely comfy beds and lots of nice touches. Breakfast is included - your choice from the great menu at the onsite Freedom Cafe. Beats a hotel buffet any day! And proper coffee :-) The cafe is fantastic - a beautifully designed glass and steel cube opening onto a lovely shady courtyard where we sat for hours under the trees and cute bunting. And the food is great. We went to a few other cafes on nearby (walkable) Florida Road, but kept coming back to Freedom as our favourite place to eat. It's just breakfast and lunch, but is also licensed. If they had done dinner there we might never have left! All up this is a luxurious but quirky and individual place to stay. If we came back to Durban we would not think twice about staying anywhere else.
Small feedback for the owners - the staff seemed to have to deal with a lot of technical problems (they were fantastic about it and so accommodating in responding quickly - but maybe it means maintenance could be better). Phone and TV didn't work in the first room (so we were happily and quickly moved to another). Safe had to be fixed in the second room. And in both rooms the bathroom fans are on a sensor so they go on every time you go in the bathroom and take ages to go off, this noise is annoying - especially at night. (Please note these are minor things and didn't detract from our very happy stay - just constructive feedback!)

Room Tip: All the rooms have different layout and decor - some rooms have an outdoor terrace facing onto a lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

The Concierge Boutique Bungalows is amazing. The staff brings your experience to another level which makes for a better environment. They treat you as a good friend and not just some stranger and help with anything you need. From the overall decor of the hotel being dachshunds dogs they blend it well into the rooms which are very modern and not over bearing. The bungalows are beautifully set up with big beds, big bathroom and new items from the AC unit to a rain shower with all other luxury items you may need. Some rooms have a outside sitting area which is pleasant during good weather.  Placement of the hotel is in a prime area. Its out of the busy area of beaches if thats your style. It's next to Florida Street where there are plenty of restaurants to chose from and if your walking or driving it is next to a main road which will get you right to the beach. It's a 5-7 minute drive to the beach or about a 40 minute walk. Either way you chose walking or driving its nice. The owners of this place did a great job bringing staff, security and environment together that makes for a great stay. Great job. 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

You certainly need a GPS to find it, but its a hidden gem!

Absolutely loved the room the styling of which was immaculate, with nice big shower and a bath you don't want to get out of.

Guess where I'll be staying on the next visit to Durban?

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne & Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Like others, I would say that the attached Freedom Cafe is a highlight - and I will get back to that. But first the actual Bungalows. Good size, comfortable, certainly boutique style. I had a room with a small courtyard which was great for chilling. Do they try a bit too hard to be quirky? In my mind, yes. But better that, than the standard chains, and I am 50 so getting more reserved.... It was my first visit to Durban so I cannot compare, but I would certainly stay again. Good place, good location, great staff. The owner, Neil Roake, is clearly a foodie and it shows with the Freedom Cafe I absolutely loved it and even bought multiple copies of one of his cookbooks (great presents). I wish they had a dinner option either at the hotel or nearby as I would have certainly used that rather than the other options in the area. Special thanks to Primrose from the cafe and checkin. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Decide if you want bath or shower. And I like the verandah suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Concierge Boutique Bungalows are beautifully designed- comfortable, elegant and trendy. The Freedom Cafe opened for us after we accidentally slept in; the staff are so accommodating. It is close to Florida Road (restaurants, bars, clubs, shops..) and convenient to getting to town. I could spend the whole day under those trees in the Cafe's courtyard! It is so reasonably priced as well. Stay here in Durban if you like small, personal boutique style hotels.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have terraces; one of which has an open plan bathroom in case you need more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.