We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 10 Woodlands Road B&B and Self-Catering

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
10 Woodlands Road B&B and Self-Catering
Save
You added 10 Woodlands Road B&B and Self-Catering to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Woodlands Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 235 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed in 10 Woodlands for the Comrades Marathon. I could not have chosen a better place. The staff were simply amazing – anticipating, and going well above and beyond, to meet needs. A few of many examples: organising a lift to the race at 4.30am, providing bits and pieces for the race, Epsom salts for the recovery bath etc – all unasked for, simply offered. Ursula (the owner) even brought some muffins the evening after the race when I didn’t have the energy to order a take away.

Race aside, the accommodation itself was very comfortable with excellent touches such as real coffee in the rooms, fast reliable wireless, secure parking, nice swimming pools etc. Well located to some decent restaurants and Woolworths food shopping.

I rarely stay in the same place twice. But I’ll gladly make an exception for 10 Woodlands. Whenever I’m in Durban, this is the place I will book, especially, but not only, for the Comrades!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
17
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hout Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We've stayed with 10 Woodlands on several of our business trips to Durban. The reason we return time after time is the exceptional service from Ursula, James and Naphtal. The new wifi server, for instance, had a low signal in the room I stayed in. After mentioning it to James, more out of curiosity, the entire system was moved the next day to ensure a 100% signal. Even after having experienced the attention to detail from this amazing team in the past, this still surprised me!

For a business traveler, the in-room amenities are a joy - including lots of hangers and plenty of connector plugs for gadgets. I'm sure all the other reviewers also mention the food, which is superb.

Thanks for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

5 Star stay in a 4 Star B&B! Very Accommodating and friendly hosts! Views from the hotel are amazing. The rooms were always clean and the stuff very friendly! I will definitely stay there the next time I visit Durban.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Over the past 5 years I have just received the best of service and highest quality experience at Woodlands. They can compete with any high quality hotel any day. Well done Woodlands team. Keep it up!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very near to the main highways, this B&B is centrally positioned close to Durban in a quiet neighboorhood with good parking.
Personal service, superb! breakfast, neat complete rooms, good standards, clean, comfortable lounge, garden and pool.
More than worth the 4 * rating

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Situated in a quiet suburb on the hills overlooking Durban this is one of the best B & Bs we have ever stayed at during 5 years of visiting SA. Ursula, James, Naphtal and all the staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious,modern and tastefully furnished with an excellent aircon system, as well as a balcony, which offered an immediate view of the attractive pool area and panoramic views beyond over the city, port and ocean. Secure garage parking.
Special mention must be made regarding the breakfasts prepared by Naphtal, as they were undoubtedly the best we have ever experienced in our stays at over 30 B &Bs in SA over the years. Excellent presentation,choice and preparation, overall 5* quality!
Definitely the place to stay in Durban.

Room Tip: Room No.6 to be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I spent almost two weeks at 10 Woodlands and it was a very enjoyable experience. Ursula and Naphtal are very accommodating and looked after me extremely well. The breakfasts are excellent! All the little things are taken care of - a selection of daily newspapers, fresh milk in my room for coffee (so much better than powdered milk sachets), a personal map of the area, and even my laundry. Sometimes a B&B can get too personal but Ursula and Naphtal always allowed enough room for personal privacy.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony looking towards the harbour. My view was of the neighbour's wall and A/C unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 10 Woodlands Road B&B and Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Woodlands Road B&B and Self-Catering

Address: 10 Woodlands Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 10 Woodlands Road B&B and Self-Catering 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the quiet suburb of upper Glenwood in Durban, this modernly furnished establishment offers the business or holiday guest attentive service with high levels of comfort and privacy.The central location of this establishment means guests have easy access to Durban and surrounding areas. It is only 10 minutes drive from the CBD and Durban beaches and within easy access of all major highways. The popular Davenport District is close by, offering a variety of fine restaurants, steak houses and coffee shops. Two large pools and pleasant landscaped gardens, with comfortable pool lounges and deck chairs, provide guests with space to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 10 Woodlands Road B&B and Self-Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.