We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botany Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botany Bay Lodge
Save
You added Botany Bay Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27 St Thomas Road | Berea, Durban, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 222 Durban B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strictly Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. Overall, the stay was comfortable, but it's the service that is missing in this place. I felt like I was more in a self catering lodge than a bed and breakfast place - for example, no staff was available when I arrived, rather I received instructions on phone on how to get to my room. On all days, I felt as if I was served breakfast more as an obligation - I had to ask for extra toast, coffee, etc. Eventually, I got what I wanted, but got this un-welcome feeling at all times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanyBayLodge, Owner at Botany Bay Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. Apologies for the impression that service was lacking. We do provide breakfast order forms, which are left in the rooms for guests to fill out. This allows us to serve breakfast at the guests' convenience. These were, however, not filled out by this guest so, yes, we did have to wait for the guest to arrive at the breakfast table and we had to ask what he wanted for breakfast. Breakfast is served with pleasure and by no means as an obligation. Having to ask for more toast or coffee is quite a normal way of communicating what is wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Botany Bay Lodge for two months (August/September) and it really was like a "home" for us. It's a small but very nice place just opposite the entrance of the Botanic Gardens, very green. The rooms are big and nicely decorated, with nice and clean bathrooms, and the pool area is beautiful, a nice place to relax! The owners as well as the staff are very friendly and helped us whenever we had a question.

Many thanks to Stacy, Wayne, Lily and Constance who made our stay a really memorable one! Whenever I will be back in Durban sometime in the future, I will definitely come and visit you :-)

Greetings from a cold and rainy Germany (I miss South Africa!),
Nadine

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanyBayLodge, Owner at Botany Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you loved you stay at Botany Bay Lodge and it gives us pleasure to know that we lived up to your expectations and that you felt at home here. We hoped you saw Durban for the beautiful sunny place that it is and we would welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I really enjoy the stay at Botany Bay Lodge.

What really convinced me:
• Lovely staff
• Helpful tips for my stay in South Africa
• Showed me beautiful places in Durban
• Support me if I need any help
• Free Wi-Fi
• Beautiful pool to relax
• Well equipped kitchen
• Centrally located
• Safe area
• Good price performance ratio

I can recommend this lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanyBayLodge, Owner at Botany Bay Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
It was wonderful to have had such lively, joyous guests and we're pleased that you experienced all that we say we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Botany Bay Lodge offers clean and friendly accommodation of a very high standard at reasonable rates. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, so much so we changed our itinerary to return for an extra few nights. The friendly and relaxing atmosphere along with the welcoming and helpful owners and excellent staff (Lily and Constance make a great breakfast and maintain a very high standard of cleanliness) combine to make this a real home away from home. I would highly recommend a stay here to anyone travelling in SA.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanyBayLodge, Owner at Botany Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It is wonderful know that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Durban so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Clean comfortable rooms with home from home feel to the place. The whole atmosphere of the house is friendly and welcoming. The owners Stacey and Wayne went out of their way to make us feel welcome and make sure we had everything we needed. The house keepers Lilly and Constance ensured our room was perfectly kept and we had all the home comforts.
I cannot recommend this b&b highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanyBayLodge, Owner at Botany Bay Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We truly hope you had a great stay in Sunny Durban and that we were everything you expected. Hope to have you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Can you say "home away from home"? Lovely, quiet, friendly and full of good vibes, married South African/British owners Wayne and Stacey were not only my hosts but became good friends. I've returned several times since my initial visit, always feeling like a welcome member of the family (which includes a disabled rescued parrot!) Always just a phone call away when I got lost driving around Durban, Wayne and Stacey invited me to dinner, parties and weekends out, introduced me to their friends and made me feel safe so far from home. The rooms were comfortable with ample closet space, the cleaning staff was affable and helpful, the pool was a bonus, and the location was perfect -- just across the street from the famed Botanical Gardens. A highly recommended cost-effective place to stay in Durban if you are not looking for sterile and impersonal hotels or crazy, noisy backpackers!

Room Tip: perhaps avoid the room by the kitchen if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanyBayLodge, Owner at Botany Bay Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you, it is a pleasure to have such wonderful people and to make your stay in Durban comfortable and memorable. Home-away-from-Home is what we say and advertise and making people feel at home is what we aim for while providing a high standard of service. We have had thousands of guests who have said that they feel like they're at home - only better! You are welcome back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and our rooms were NEVER once cleaned. The owners were not even aware that the rooms had not been cleaned meaning that they did not at any point inspect the rooms. We even had to ask for fresh towels the following morning because no attention was paid to the service. The owners of the place were no were to be found on the one day, the lady had gone out to a wedding and we the guests were left with no one to offer us any service apart from the lady who prepare the breakfast and left immediately afterwards, before checkout time. The food on the first morning was average. Upon arrival we were told that breakfast will not be served later than 9am, on the second morning breakfast was served at 11am. We had to wait for the owner, who very rudely asked us what we wanted for breakfast, to prepare the breakfast for us. When we were cheking out on the second day and we confronted her about the fact that we were not satisfied with the service, she got defensive. She then went on to blame us, her guests who were paying a whopping R690 per room per night, for the rooms not having been cleaned. Also please note that the pictures on their website are a totally inaccurate representation of the place. We got there and the rooms were dim and not as bright and airy as in the pictures, the furniture was old and worn out and the decor had a creepy feel to it. The rooms did not have small bath cloths nor did they have soap as is represented on the pictures.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Botany Bay Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
In response to this review:

This group of seven young ladies were booked from Friday night to Sunday morning. They were attending a function on the Saturday afternoon. They spent the entire Saturday morning occupying their rooms preparing themselves for their function therefore not allowing the opportunity for their rooms to be serviced. The staff left at 11h30 and not immediately after breakfast as the guest claims. Their rooms were therefore not serviced on the Saturday and they checked out on the Sunday morning. They were issued with fresh towels upon request.
These ladies also arrived at 03h15 in the morning (Saturday) without any advise/ phone call to explain their delay.
They were given their invoice on the Saturday morning. On the Sunday morning when it came to settling their bill, they were of the opinion that they were due a reduction as they had not spent the whole of Friday night at the guest house and their rooms had not been serviced on the Saturday morning.

The photos on our website is of our guest house and is exactly what one sees when they arrive. Perhaps these ladies thought it was dark and dim because they arrived at 03h15 in the morning. Our décor is afro-colonial and not urban chic. Our "old and worn" furniture is in fact antiques. Our previous guests have commented that the pictures on our sites do not do our guest house justice and that it is even better when they arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botany Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botany Bay Lodge

Address: 27 St Thomas Road | Berea, Durban, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Hotel Class:3 star — Botany Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botany Bay Lodge was built in 1921 and has been lovingly restored to its former glory by the owners Wayne And Stacy.Botany Bay Lodge offers friendly, relaxed accommodation with an afro-colonial setting, situated right next to the famous Botanical Gardens on Durban's lush suburb - the Berea - not far from shopping centres, cinemas, good restaurants and take-aways.Minutes from Durban City Centre.We are only 5 minutes from the city centre, International Conference Centre and beaches and the soccer, cricket and rugby stadiums.Our lodge has four en-suite bedrooms with fans and air conditioners for those balmy Durban evenings. Our rooms are all equipped with coffee/tea facilities, TV’s, overhead fans, safes and have ample cupboard space. Our top quality mattresses ensure you a restful night’s sleep. Our linen is new and of good quality. We provide towels, soap and shampoo. We offer wireless internet access to check emails for those guests with their own laptops. We do offer fax/ telephone facilities on request. We also offer safe off-street parking, pool bar, laundry / maid service and a fully fitted communal kitchen and braai area for your self catering requirements.Our pool is set in tranquil, lush, tropical surroundings and you will find it very difficult not to unwind and take a well-deserved break. Our bar has a fridge where you may chill your drinks.There are telephone and fax facilities on request, a comfortable, relaxing lounge and lots of information available for tours / safaris, activities, car hire, etc. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botany Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.