We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and a Gallery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice on Florida

Spice on Florida
37 North Beach Road, Bali Hai | Westbrook, Tongaat, Durban, South Africa
+27 32 943 3558
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 339 restaurants in Durban
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Zürich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and a Gallery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food was excellent! Enjoyed the atmosphere in spite of the rain and bought a beautiful painting!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    34
    22
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, relaxed atmosphere, very relaxed service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a treat to have a special vegetarian menu at a gourmet restaurant! A fantastic meal, perfect portions and a very relaxed atmosphere. Unfortunately on this particular occasion, the service was very casual...in fact, bordering on rude, especially since there was only one other table to serve at the time we were there. It was the only thing lacking in an otherwise fabulous afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restuarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have dined at this restaurant on at least four occasions. Food is very good and there is always something on the menu that appeals. Good service and relaxed atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleased to revisit in new venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After a rather disastrous visit to Spice some years ago in its previous Florida Road venue we had always avoided a return trip until persuaded by friends that it really IS worth a re-visit now AND were told it now has interesting vegetarian dishes. All this proved to be spot on with a most pleasant ambiance - at their new Winderrmere Rd* venue - and well presented dishes. My only concern is that had we not known in advance from friends that there was a special vegetarian menu we would have thought that there were only the few items on the general menu. Turns out one has to know about and specially ASK to be given the vegetarian menu - so perhaps they are not so keen to serve them as we had been led to believe? Otherwise why would they not simply have it as an insert to the general menu? However once that was sorted we had a good selection of dishes to choose from and we have added Spice to our non-budget places to eat in Durban.
*Windermere Road is now renamed Lilian Ngoyi Road

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaurant in SA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The first time I visited Spice was back in 2009 during my first visit to South Africa. My grandparents love this restaurant and take all their Canadian guests to try 'the best lamb curry in all of South Africa'. It's now our tradition to go for my going away dinner before heading back to Canada. The food is so unique and delicious, and the owner is always friendly and comes around to chat with guests. He actually remembered me from 3 years earlier! I can't say enough how much we love the food and as a Canadian, I would pay 4x the amount for a meal like this at home. Can't wait to come back again next year! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice on Florida also viewed

Gillitts, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Spice on Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice on Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.