We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Benjamin

Save Saved
You added The Benjamin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Benjamin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 hotels in Durban
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived early for our check in and were shown straight to our room. A very attractive,quiet room at the back of the property. We had three nights here and would recommend it as a place to stay. The breakfast menu is huge and delicious. All the staff we dealt with we're very pleasant and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on our hotel. We are so glad that you had a enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. Hope that the rest of your stay in South Africa was great .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
30
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I regularly stay over at this Hotel - The staff are great and I consider it home away from Home - Consistency throughout in all aspects on each return.Breakfast is awesome and the service & quality always tops

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much we really appreciate your comments and love having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moggio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A great hotel located on a busy street with restaurants and bars. We were able to walk to an Indian restaurant just down the road and have a drink right outside the hotel. The staff were also fantastic when I left a jacket in the hotel and with no hope of us ever returning to pick it up they agreed to post it on to us. Thank you Michelle!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. There is nothing worse than loosing your favourite clothes and it is a pleasure to be able to help you get it back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The benjamin is a fine hotel, with a great breakfast, excellent service - they really go the extra mile when you need a favour - and fantastic location. The rooms are also good, even though the decoration and the predominance of Kenny G in the ambience music might feel questionable to some.
What i don't get is their obsession to call themselves a boutique hotel, when the hotel isn't small, nor vintage, nor quaint. They're absolutely fine being a city hotel, and you will have a perfectly ok experience staying at the Benjamin, but if you expect something boutique, well, this is not it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback, and we have noted your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Benjamin at the end of June 2013. Wanted to stay again in July but it was booked solid for the Durban July horse races. Clean, friendly staff, secure parking and a great selection of restaurants within a block or two.

One weird experience -- sitting in the front lounge, about to go out, when a blond, middle-aged woman came in from the street and tried to sell us TASERs for our safety!? I think the hotel front desk person was busy and didn't see "the TASER lady" enter and make her pitch. I don't think the hotel would encourage such a thing.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing Florida Road might be noisy at night, esp on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Melissa

Thank you for reviewing us , we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry about the lady selling"Tasers", we certainly do not allow this and apologise that you had to endour this.

Hope to see you again when next in Durban

Regards Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had an enjoyable stay at The Benjamin and this is why:

Staff: they were very attentive. The front desk staff provided good information in restaurants and were always smiling when I entered. The wait staff was quite accommodating during breakfast readily available to take your order and always friendly.
Location: quite close/short drive to the beach. On Florida Rd where there are a host of restaurants and bars that you can walk to.
Rooms: I had a lovely room on the second floor with a view of the courtyard. It was well equipped; although, you must request an iron/ironing board from the front desk. It wasn't the most modern room but it was very clean and well taken care of. The only thing that could have been improved was the lighting in the room. I always felt that it was not bright enough.
Food: breakfast was included in the pricing and it was awesome! There was a lovely spread of pastries, fruit, nuts, cereal and cold cuts. I filled up the first morning not realizing that I was able to order hot made-to-order breakfast as well! I tried it the next morning..and every morning thereafter and it was always hot and delicious.
Pricing: It was so reasonable. I guess coming from NY where hotels are so expensive, I found this hotel to be a steal!

I always like to try new hotels when I revisit cities; however, my experience was so great that I must return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Jayeyedee

Thank you for doing a review for us and all the lovely compliments, it really means alot to us to receive such great feedback. I have noted the comment on the lighting in the rooms and we will now only use a brighter bulb. Thank you, it is comments like yours that help us improve all the time.

Many Thanks
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My name is Sanjay Roy and i am writing this review almost after a year and half and i might be considered crazy for that reason. I was there in September, 2011. This hotel is located in Florida street, the main happening street in Durban with large number of pubs and resto-bars. Havana lounge is one crazy of a place and a must visit. The beach front is not far from The Benjamin. I will always prefer to stay The Benjamin whenever i am in Durban next time with my family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sanjay

Thank you so much all the lovely comments. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Benjamin 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Benjamin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.