We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“communication between easytobook and the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belaire Suites to your Saves list
Belaire Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4056, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Durban
vereeniging
1 review
“communication between easytobook and the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

when i phoned the hotel to confirm my booking,they had no reference of the booking.
luckily they were prepared to do the booking directly at the same tarif.
if i had not checked the booking done by easytobook,i would have arrived and would not have had a place to sleep as the hotel was full.
i would thus not recommend easytobook for friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    106
    55
    21
    15
See reviews for
62
73
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is in an excellent location close to the Sun Coast complex and most rooms have a sea view. Ou first room was close to refurbishments and had nowhere to store items in the bathroom. With the help of Kobus, the excellent customer relations chap we changed to another room that met our requirements. The rooms are large with a table and chairs plus sofa. Our one compaint was the steady stream of cockroaches that joined us daily in the bathroom.

An excellent breakfast is included, but the breakfast room can be crowded at peak times. We did spot the serving staff at breakfast regularly dropping the serving tools onto the floor and then re-using them without cleaning them!

There is also a nice coffee shop (Cafe Jarin) attached to the hotel which serves good food and drinks. The car park at the rear is not for the faint hearted, access is up a tight steep slope once the attention of the staff has been attracted by repeatedly pressing a button outside.

Very good value, the staff were lovely, including Nick, Reception who was most helpful. We shall be back.as we are regular Durban visitors for family reasons

Room Tip: Middle rooms are the most spacious opposite the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Me and my fiance spent 2 nights at this hotel in Feb. 2012. We chose the hotel entirely for the location and on that point we were pleased, just a few minutes walk to the beach that had lifeguards and right next to that was a mall with a food court. Just a few minutes drive to Ushaka Marine World which had a nice aquarium in an old shipwreck, worth visiting. A few restaurants around, all of which seemed to belong to hotels. The food at Belaire's restaurant was fine, a bit slow service though. Lots of people walking, jogging along the beach. We used their carpark and had no problems with the car.

The room itself was comfortable but quite boring I would say, no details at all to make it home-friendly. We had a room on the 10th floor, decent view when the windows were open (quite dirty windows), AC, fridge, TV, etc. The service wasn't great at check-in, the receptionist wasn't particularly friendly or knowledgable and it turns out she charged us for 3 night even though we were there for 2, so at check-out we had to wait for ages while they tried to figure out the problem and credit our card. They had forgotten to clean the little room in the back (we stayed in flat with place for 4 people), we didn't need it since we were just 2 people so we didn't complain. Breakfast was ok, lots of choices but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights at Belaire Suites. We had a great time. Before we arrived I had e-mailed and always got a very fast response. The room was large and clean and very attractive. The breakfast every morning was wonderful. It is nice to have a fridge and small kitchen area in the room. The location was great. You can just walk out the door and explore and walk around. In wrapping up we would stay here anytime.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran-Iran
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

i stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early Feb. the location of the hotel is perfect right in front of Indian ocean on a nice street close to Sun Casino and seems to be safe to walk around . it has a nice lobby and nice staff easy check in and all . rooms however stirred a mixed feeling in me . we had 2 rooms one on 6th and ion on 7th floor . the hotel is generally run down , a bit dated but really clean . if you are looking for luxury definately not the right choice but if you are travelling on a budget value for money .
in the room there was no water and you should buy water from hotels coffee shop . i asked for a tothbrush and they said they don't have it . so if you want to go there don't forget to take your tooth brush . another problem that i had was the morning noise from the maids who were cleaning the rooms , they were speaking loudly and shouting to eachother .
one more thing you should condider is the fact that after 5-6 pm all shops around you are closed , so if you need anything make sure you have them before 6 pm.
i had an ok experience but i might choose another place if i go to Durban again .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had stayed in the Belaire Suites for a 2 week period in January and was pleasantly suprised twith the level of service offered.

The reception were friendly, and the breakfast chef was helpful and chatyy, which made it welcoming.

Good sized room with microwave oven a d fridge.
Snacks and meals were tasty and plentiful.
Better value than other hotels that i have stayed in whilst in South Africa.

One minor point, the fridge for the beer was not working fully and the beer was not at its best for a couple of days, but glad to say was corrected.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights on my first ever visit to Durban. The room was very spacious, well fitted and comfortable. The service throughout was friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast was extremely good and offered a wide variety.

The cafe/restaurant deserves special praise. As I was in transit and had no real chance to discover other places to eat I chose to stay in for both evening meals. I think I would have been hard pressed to find better food and service anywhere else in the city - really very good.

The location by the ocean is great and gives easy access to the rest of the city even on foot.

The only minor faults I found were firstly that the Wifi simply would not work in my room - it was fine in the communal areas on the ground floor which was sufficient for me but this could be a real problem for anybody staying on business. Secondly my second floor room didn't really have the sea view as advertised and the thick anti-glare film on the windows made it seem quite dark on what were admittedly a couple of rather dull days.

Those minor points aside I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anybody

Room Tip: If you want a true sea view you nee to be higher than the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4056, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#8 Business Hotel in Durban
#10 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belaire Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.